Windows XP?

This is a discussion on Windows XP? within the Off-Topic Discussion forums, part of the Off-Topic Area category; I have had some serious issues w/ my Dell Dimension running XP Pro. I did a shut-down/reboot & it's now stuck on the awful Blue ...


Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Windows XP?

  1. #1
    X Conveyor
    Points: 4,660, Level: 43
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 90
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    Lane W's Avatar
    Member #
    33056
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    1 hour north of NYC
    Posts
    325
    Liked
    3 times

    Windows XP? AVG users take notice

    I have had some serious issues w/ my Dell Dimension running XP Pro. I did a shut-down/reboot & it's now stuck on the awful Blue Screen.

    I've been running Win. XP professional for 6-7 yrs & some of my software (accounting & my Act! database) is not compatible w/ Win 7. Anyone know how I could buy from Dell & customize the puter by having them load Win XP vs Win 7 that they are now using

    Thanks for whatever u guys can share.

    Lane


    Note: See my notes 09/30 for heads up on AVG anti-virus
    - 2 posts down from here



    Sent from my DROID X2 using Droid X Forums
    Last edited by Lane W; 10-05-2012 at 12:06 AM. Reason: edit to thread title
    Droid X2.....Eclipse .


    BIG THANKS to SD_Shadow who has also helped me dig out of a hole

    A BIG thank you to GoCliffGo who helped me get Eclipse on my X2




    When someone shares something of value with you, from which you
    benefit, you have a moral obligation to share it with others...

  2. Droid X Forums
    Ads


  3. #2
    Administrator
    Supporting Member
    Points: 67,578, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 16.2%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    HarleyDude's Avatar
    Member #
    19213
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Philly area
    Posts
    8,191
    Liked
    460 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Lane W View Post
    I have had some serious issues w/ my Dell Dimension running XP Pro. I did a shut-down/reboot & it's now stuck on the awful Blue Screen.

    I've been running Win. XP professional for 6-7 yrs & some of my software (accounting & my Act! database) is not compatible w/ Win 7. Anyone know how I could buy from Dell & customize the puter by having them load Win XP vs Win 7 that they are now using

    Thanks for whatever u guys can share.

    Lane

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Droid X Forums
    Hate to tell you this, but you'll probably be out of luck. Manufacturers are not writing drivers for their devices under XP, so any newer hardware will only have Win7 drivers. I spent a couple weeks trying to get XP working on a new Asus laptop. XP itself installed, but only after many issues, including reconfiguring the hard drive type in bios. Even then, virtually none of the peripheral hardware was working, as there are no available XP drivers

  4. #3
    X Conveyor
    Points: 4,660, Level: 43
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 90
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    Lane W's Avatar
    Member #
    33056
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    1 hour north of NYC
    Posts
    325
    Liked
    3 times
    I suspected Win7 wouldn't have the drivers that could/would support XP - especially since it's a 10 yr old OS. I understand that Win7 can be "told" (control panel, settings) to operate on XP in a different mode, without installing XP. This is pretty cool, especially since my major business software is not compatible w/ Win7. Thanks for your feedback, I'll share a few things with you.

    I brought it to Staples and spoke with a tech there I have known for a few yrs. He said they can get it working as it was prior to the crash (what they call their 'piece of mind' plan) for a cost of $200. Not too bad. All docs, pics, folders, etc will still be in the files/shortcuts on the desktop, but I will have to reload all the software. Still, not too bad to recover everything. They even warranty their work for 1 yr which really impressed me. I thought I was adamant about backing everything up, but learned the hard way "everything" wasn't & the auto-backup to the external hard drive needed some fine tuning.

    I explained what happened to the guy at Staples & will share this w/ you for your own knowledge & perhaps others you know. I've been using AVG successfully for 10 yrs as an anti-virus. I got a default message that their 2013 version is available. I did this update and then a reboot that the program told me was necessary for the 2013 package to go into effect. It hung on "system shutting down" for 90 minutes so I did a hard reboot. Fatal error 00x00001 safety error, error system has been shut down. That's when the screen went blue & knew I was in trouble. The guy told me "AVG just ruined your computer." I was baffled that an anti-virus - that is there to protect the computer - could destroy it He said he sees this once a week & unfortunately, it just happens.

    So be aware of AVG's potential damage to a computer after a major update (2012 version to 2013 version). Personally, after this I'm going back to Norton. Be advised
    Last edited by Lane W; 10-05-2012 at 12:10 AM.
    Droid X2.....Eclipse .


    BIG THANKS to SD_Shadow who has also helped me dig out of a hole

    A BIG thank you to GoCliffGo who helped me get Eclipse on my X2




    When someone shares something of value with you, from which you
    benefit, you have a moral obligation to share it with others...

  5. #4
    X Pursuant
    Points: 4,713, Level: 43
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Overall activity: 1.6%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    newmanx4's Avatar
    Member #
    34469
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    703
    Liked
    29 times
    Good to know. I still have one XP desktop and I have been getting the pop up for AVG 13. I will not be updating now.

    Sent from my Black Iced X

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Hp g6 windows 7
    By towbiz in forum Hacking Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-04-2012, 04:50 PM
  2. Mod a rom windows app
    By S@NT@N@ in forum Gingerbread Development and Hacking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-26-2011, 12:38 PM
  3. RSD vs. Windows 7 x64
    By Low00Ranger in forum Droid X2 Hacks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-02-2011, 06:37 AM
  4. Pop Up Windows, Really?
    By johnbergsing in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 04-07-2011, 09:38 AM
  5. Windows ain't to bad on my Mac as a VM
    By DebianDog in forum Off-Topic Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-24-2011, 07:43 PM

Search tags for this page

error 00x00001

,
windows 8 erro na instala??o 00x00001
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.