Wireless router as Wifi range extender?

This is a discussion on Wireless router as Wifi range extender? within the Off-Topic Discussion forums, part of the Off-Topic Area category; Like the title says- I want to extend the range of my new wireless router by using my old one. My new one is a ...


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Wireless router as Wifi range extender?

  1. #1
    X Informant
    Points: 1,670, Level: 23
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 0.1%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points31 days registered100 Experience Points7 days registeredTagger Second Class
    chev74's Avatar
    Member #
    45406
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Tyler, TX
    Posts
    54
    Liked
    0 times

    Wireless router as Wifi range extender?

    Like the title says- I want to extend the range of my new wireless router by using my old one. My new one is a Cisco-Linksys E1200, and my other one is a Belkin G+MIMO (I can get exact model/firmware numbers if needed). I realize that bandwidth may be cut in half by extending it this way, but it would really be more for light surfing (iPod touch and DroidX), no gaming or anything. I am technically inclined, and know how to access all the setting of the routers if anything needed to be changed. So, can it be done?

  2. Droid X Forums
    Ads


  3. #2
    X Conveyor
    Points: 1,873, Level: 25
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 0.5%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered500 Experience Points250 Experience Points7 days registered100 Experience Points
    Willup's Avatar
    Member #
    35177
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    263
    Liked
    17 times
    Most likely yes. Look up dd-wrt. It's custom firmware that will allow all these features. I have already made a wireless repeater bridge from my old linksys router. Look your model up to see if they have firmware available for your old router. Wikis on there will guide you how to flash the firmware and how to setup router as a wireless bridge.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

  4. #3
    X Informant
    Points: 1,670, Level: 23
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 0.1%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points31 days registered100 Experience Points7 days registeredTagger Second Class
    chev74's Avatar
    Member #
    45406
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Tyler, TX
    Posts
    54
    Liked
    0 times
    Thanks for the info. Is dd-wrt a website?

  5. #4
    X Informant
    Points: 1,670, Level: 23
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 0.1%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points31 days registered100 Experience Points7 days registeredTagger Second Class
    chev74's Avatar
    Member #
    45406
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Tyler, TX
    Posts
    54
    Liked
    0 times
    Did your bandwidth get cut in half like I've read it will? Also, is ddwrt free?

  6. #5
    X Lurker
    Points: 1,218, Level: 19
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0.5%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    freebird317's Avatar
    Member #
    8557
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    12
    Liked
    0 times
    Ddwrt is not for the "i know where such and such button is" See about buying a real bridge. Netgear makes one.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

  7. #6
    X Informant
    Points: 1,670, Level: 23
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 0.1%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points31 days registered100 Experience Points7 days registeredTagger Second Class
    chev74's Avatar
    Member #
    45406
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Tyler, TX
    Posts
    54
    Liked
    0 times
    I know a lot more than the average user. Plus, I'm not using the router, so what do I have to lose other than shelf space from a bricked router?

  8. #7
    X Informant
    Points: 1,670, Level: 23
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 0.1%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points31 days registered100 Experience Points7 days registeredTagger Second Class
    chev74's Avatar
    Member #
    45406
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Tyler, TX
    Posts
    54
    Liked
    0 times
    I have a belkin F5D9230-4 v. 3000

    It's not in the database so I'm assuming it can't be done

  9. #8
    X Lurker
    Points: 31, Level: 1
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0.1%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered
    kintana's Avatar
    Member #
    49540
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    I had a similar problem and looked into buying another repeater to solve the issue but I figured I might as well search around first. Here's what I came across that I think will help you out: http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1089455 If this doesn't work you may want to upgrade your firmware or even use a third-party firmware like Tomato or something similar which will give you more options. Sort of ridiculous that a lot of these routers can do great things but are limited by their own companies hardware. Whatever works I guess. Could also check out WiFi Repeater Reviews | Wireless Repeater Reviews which might be able to help you out a little bit more.

+ Reply to Thread

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Virtual Wifi - Laptop as Wifi Extender
    By Snow02 in forum Droid X General Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-17-2013, 05:11 PM
  2. Verizon Wireless Network Extender
    By zoomdroid in forum Droid X General Discussion
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 04-29-2012, 10:37 AM
  3. MBP(10.6.4) change to Wireless router with Proxoid's connection?
    By peeterparker in forum Droid X General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-20-2011, 04:53 PM
  4. Better wifi range
    By jmartinez748 in forum Off-Topic Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-15-2011, 10:24 PM
  5. Home wireless router problem
    By jdyhawg in forum Droid X Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-29-2011, 04:18 PM

Search tags for this page

configure linksys e1200 as a repeater
,
e1200 bridge mode
,

linksys e1200 as repeater

,
linksys e1200 extender
,

linksys e1200 range extender

,

linksys e1200 repeater

,

linksys e1200 repeater mode

,
linksys e1200 repeater setup
,
linksys e1200 wireless bridge
,
linksys e1200 wireless repeater
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.