Already Bricked

This is a discussion on Already Bricked within the Gingerbread Roms forums, part of the Gingerbread Development and Hacking category; I tried using ROM Manager because I had already flashed the latest Clockwork. I hit the button, "Reboot into Recovery" and the phone rebooted and ...


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Already Bricked

  1. #1
    X Informant Achievements:
    3 months registered31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    Madmick's Avatar
    Member #
    56188
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    64
    Liked
    1 times

    Already Bricked

    I tried using ROM Manager because I had already flashed the latest Clockwork. I hit the button, "Reboot into Recovery" and the phone rebooted and everything looked normal. Was I suppose to hold down the home button or something? Anyways, because of that, I tried using Droid 2 Bootstrapper. First I hit the top button, then the bottom to reboot.

    Now I'm in what I think it called a "Bootloop". What do I do? Should I just SBF? I can't even hold down the power button to turn the damn thing off.

  2. Droid X Forums
    Ads


  3. #2
    X Informant Achievements:
    3 months registered31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    Madmick's Avatar
    Member #
    56188
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    64
    Liked
    1 times
    I even tried taking out the battery and putting it back in. I just keep seeing the red eye over and over. Won't get to the home screen.

  4. #3
    Most Creative Screenshot
    Points: 8,944, Level: 63
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 106
    Overall activity: 0.1%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    silver04v's Avatar
    Member #
    26597
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    1,492
    Liked
    36 times
    pull battery, put back in. Hold home and hold power. Hold till the triangle guy comes up. then release both. Then hit both volume buttons at the same time. Then scroll to wipe data, and the select. then scroll to reboot and see if it will reboot. this will wipe your phone fyi. But it might get you up and going without having to sbf
    Droid X powered by ICS
    I've got my SBF badge.

  5. #4
    X Informant Achievements:
    3 months registered31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    Madmick's Avatar
    Member #
    56188
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    64
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by silver04v View Post
    pull battery, put back in. Hold home and hold power. Hold till the triangle guy comes up. then release both. Then hit both volume buttons at the same time. Then scroll to wipe data, and the select. then scroll to reboot and see if it will reboot. this will wipe your phone fyi. But it might get you up and going without having to sbf
    Nope. Still in the bootloop. Gonna try to SBF now.

  6. #5
    Advocate X Achievements:
    500 Experience Points31 days registered250 Experience Points7 days registered100 Experience Points
    The persuader's Avatar
    Member #
    12986
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    5,603
    Liked
    66 times
    Good Choice...

    Always try a Factory Reset/Data Wipe First as Silver Mentioned...personally...

    90% of the Time what you've experienced...My first choice would be to SBF...your Wiping Data anyways...you may as well SBF and Get your Jets Cleaned with a Fresh Start...

    Its Bubba



    You may have done this already...When you've finished SBFing... do a Nandroid (Backup)...
    Quote Originally Posted by Madmick View Post
    Nope. Still in the bootloop. Gonna try to SBF now.
    It's Going Along for the Ride...

    "Stubborn In You're Bones"

  7. #6
    X Informant Achievements:
    3 months registered31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    Madmick's Avatar
    Member #
    56188
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    64
    Liked
    1 times
    Well, at first I thought the SBF failed (I used 1KDS's method for Mac), because I got a "couldn't finish operation due to insufficient memory". I thought that odd because my internal card is 8GB and I used virtually no space at all, so I wiped data anyway, rebooted, and I got to the screen shown in his video. I set up the phone. Now I'm up and running. My contacts were in place from the get-go because I entered my Google account info in the setup. I don't see my apps. Since I wiped data, do I simply re-install TiBu, and pull them in with it? I think I only backed up to my internal SD card on TiBu. From now on, I'll back up to both internal and external. It's not a big deal because I made sure I had all my apps as .apk files in a folder on my computer in case I screwed anything up (since I'm a newb and I expected I would at some point).

    In any case, now I'm not really scared of anything. Barring an SBF brick itself (which I'll avoid because I'll just use this method), I'm pretty confident I can reset any pooch I screw in the future, LOL. So even though it's been a stressful evening, I feel good about it all now.

  8. #7
    *Rescue Squad*
    Supporting Member
    Points: 29,424, Level: 99
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 576
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points250 Experience Points100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    Nemo aeternamn's Avatar
    Member #
    37333
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Mo-ab
    Posts
    7,738
    Liked
    165 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Madmick View Post
    Well, at first I thought the SBF failed (I used 1KDS's method for Mac), because I got a "couldn't finish operation due to insufficient memory". I thought that odd because my internal card is 8GB and I used virtually no space at all, so I wiped data anyway, rebooted, and I got to the screen shown in his video. I set up the phone. Now I'm up and running. My contacts were in place from the get-go because I entered my Google account info in the setup. I don't see my apps. Since I wiped data, do I simply re-install TiBu, and pull them in with it? I think I only backed up to my internal SD card on TiBu. From now on, I'll back up to both internal and external. It's not a big deal because I made sure I had all my apps as .apk files in a folder on my computer in case I screwed anything up (since I'm a newb and I expected I would at some point).

    In any case, now I'm not really scared of anything. Barring an SBF brick itself (which I'll avoid because I'll just use this method), I'm pretty confident I can reset any pooch I screw in the future, LOL. So even though it's been a stressful evening, I feel good about it all now.
    ya... just download tibu from the market and put everything back on... you shouldn't need to back up the external sd card... as an sbf doesn't touch the external sd
    Post Script:
    We have nothing to fear but runnig out of beer/*****|*****\
    Nemo Aeternamn Wallpapers

    Sbf: Linux - Rsd Common Terminolgy Root: Ginger Tether X2:Q&A+LINKS Stolen from Goose306: Info On 621

  9. #8
    X Informant Achievements:
    3 months registered31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    Madmick's Avatar
    Member #
    56188
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    64
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Nemo aeternamn View Post
    ya... just download tibu from the market and put everything back on... you shouldn't need to back up the external sd card... as an sbf doesn't touch the external sd
    K. I re-rooted and downloaded TiBu. I did a batch restore of Apps + System and it's prompting me if I want to install each 1 by 1. Is there no way to automate this so I don't have to keep hitting "Install" then "Done".

    I'm gonna do it because I never successfully created a nandroid. In the future, though, once I already have a nandroid, wouldn't it make sense to skip this step if I happened to do a full SBF before attempting to flash a new ROM?
    Last edited by Madmick; 03-08-2012 at 02:06 AM.

  10. #9
    *Rescue Squad*
    Supporting Member
    Points: 29,424, Level: 99
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 576
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points250 Experience Points100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    Nemo aeternamn's Avatar
    Member #
    37333
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Mo-ab
    Posts
    7,738
    Liked
    165 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Madmick View Post
    K. I re-rooted and downloaded TiBu. I did a batch restore of Apps + System and it's prompting me if I want to install each 1 by 1. Is there no way to automate this so I don't have to keep hitting "Install" then "Done".

    I'm gonna do it because I never successfully created a nandroid. In the future, though, once I already have a nandroid, wouldn't it make sense to skip this step if I happened to do a full SBF before attempting to flash a new ROM?
    if you rooted... it should batch restore no problem...

    for future reference.. once you create a nandroid... sbf... you'll just have too root... but bootstrap on.. then restore from there
    Post Script:
    We have nothing to fear but runnig out of beer/*****|*****\
    Nemo Aeternamn Wallpapers

    Sbf: Linux - Rsd Common Terminolgy Root: Ginger Tether X2:Q&A+LINKS Stolen from Goose306: Info On 621

  11. #10
    Agent X
    Points: 12,678, Level: 73
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 172
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience Points31 days registered100 Experience Points7 days registered
    csk415's Avatar
    Member #
    29658
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    1,812
    Liked
    54 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Nemo aeternamn View Post
    if you rooted... it should batch restore no problem...

    for future reference.. once you create a nandroid... sbf... you'll just have too root... but bootstrap on.. then restore from there
    Isn't the batch operation only for the paid version? If the free is being used its one at a time. I used the free version but not the paid.

    StrykedVorteX X
    What rom do I run today??
    1kds SBF http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/dr...-problems.html
    If you are in a state of "OMG I jacked my phone up". Go here for help.http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/droid-x-rescue-squad/

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. I think I just bricked my DX
    By bottlerocket in forum Droid X Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-25-2011, 08:24 AM
  2. think Im bricked please help
    By joshamusdesimus in forum Droid X Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-21-2011, 07:14 AM
  3. You're not bricked
    By tycoon177 in forum Hacking Help
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-15-2011, 09:50 PM
  4. Bricked? Help?
    By RBlass in forum Droid X Rescue Squad
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-01-2011, 10:21 PM
  5. Bricked, need help please!!!
    By Talon66721 in forum Droid X Rooted Issues
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 12-24-2010, 12:07 AM

Search tags for this page

.605 apex forces close unexpectedly
,
1kds 605 root droid 3 vs zergrush
,
2.3.4 bricked droid 2
,
2nd init phone force close
,
already bricked
,
can i flash to a gingerbread based rom from kernel 2.6.32.9 froyo
,
d2 gb 2.3.4 sbf
,
droid 2 bricked 2.3.4
,
droid 2 bricked sbf 2.3.4
,
droid x blue triangle after sbf
,

droid x cheat sbf

,
droid x sbf 2.3.4 bricked
,
droid x triangle after 2.3.4
,
droid x, freezing, 2.3.4
,
droidx bricked 2.3.4
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.