New phone, now in gingerbread.

This is a discussion on New phone, now in gingerbread. within the Gingerbread Development and Hacking forums, part of the Droid X Gingerbread Forum category; After a recent event with my old DX running CM7 on Froyo i ended up having to get a new phone. (luckily with my replacement ...


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: New phone, now in gingerbread.

  1. #1
    X Informant
    Points: 826, Level: 15
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 74
    Overall activity: 0.5%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered7 days registered100 Experience Points
    IceAzures's Avatar
    Member #
    49217
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Somewhere in Cali
    Posts
    41
    Liked
    0 times

    New phone, now in gingerbread.

    After a recent event with my old DX running CM7 on Froyo i ended up having to get a new phone. (luckily with my replacement plan)

    It was fun playing around with froyo ROM's but now i want to try them around with gingerbread. I'm currently rooted on stock .605 and was wondering if I would have to sbf back to froyo to get GB ROM's, or can I be on any version of GB (.596 .602 .605) and play with custom ROM's?

  2. Droid X Forums
    Ads


  3. #2
    Rescue Squad
    Supporting Member
    Points: 28,311, Level: 98
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 39
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registeredCreated Album pictures
    Leach19m's Avatar
    Member #
    31277
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    7,053
    Liked
    234 times
    Most are written for 602, but you dont have to sbf to 340; you can sbf to 602 using the droid x sbf link in my signature

    -- Sent from my HP TouchPad using Communities

  4. #3
    Technician X
    Supporting Member
    Points: 6,372, Level: 52
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 178
    Overall activity: 0.5%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    savagerun's Avatar
    Member #
    41501
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,204
    Liked
    54 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Leach19m View Post
    Most are written for 602, but you dont have to sbf to 340; you can sbf to 602 using the droid x sbf link in my signature

    -- Sent from my HP TouchPad using Communities

    Hey Leach just curious because the op said he is on rooted 605 now so wouldn't he be able to install any 602 or 605 roms as he is now? Im not sure why he would need to sbf 602. Maybe im missing something?
    Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

  5. #4
    Rescue Squad
    Supporting Member
    Points: 28,311, Level: 98
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 39
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registeredCreated Album pictures
    Leach19m's Avatar
    Member #
    31277
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    7,053
    Liked
    234 times
    I'm not 100% sure, he'd need to read through the individual Rom instructions to see if it would work. I've seen it said that 605 actually has a different kernel, so it may not work

    -- Sent from my HP TouchPad using Communities

  6. #5
    Technician X
    Supporting Member
    Points: 6,372, Level: 52
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 178
    Overall activity: 0.5%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    savagerun's Avatar
    Member #
    41501
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,204
    Liked
    54 times
    Ok. Because ive been noticing people flashing 602 roms on 605 and also the other way around. Haven't heard yet where it hasn't worked that's why i was asking. For example the ICX rom the directions say you must be on 605 to flash it but i know for sure you can flash it on 602. Just thought i was missing something. I guess he could try to install the rom then if for some reason it didn't work he could sbf.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums
    Last edited by savagerun; 10-09-2011 at 06:43 PM.

  7. #6
    X Informant
    Points: 826, Level: 15
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 74
    Overall activity: 0.5%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered7 days registered100 Experience Points
    IceAzures's Avatar
    Member #
    49217
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Somewhere in Cali
    Posts
    41
    Liked
    0 times
    Okay ill try to the .605 for now, and if worse comes to worse (bricking) ill just sbf back to .602 and give that another shot.

  8. #7
    Technician X
    Supporting Member
    Points: 6,372, Level: 52
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 178
    Overall activity: 0.5%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    savagerun's Avatar
    Member #
    41501
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,204
    Liked
    54 times
    Quote Originally Posted by IceAzures View Post
    Okay ill try to the .605 for now, and if worse comes to worse (bricking) ill just sbf back to .602 and give that another shot.
    Good idea. Let us know how things work out or if you need help with anything.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

  9. #8
    X Informant
    Points: 826, Level: 15
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 74
    Overall activity: 0.5%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered7 days registered100 Experience Points
    IceAzures's Avatar
    Member #
    49217
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Somewhere in Cali
    Posts
    41
    Liked
    0 times
    Maybe it was the ROM i installed (VorteX Beta) but i was able to successfully install a ROM from .605

  10. #9
    Technician X
    Supporting Member
    Points: 6,372, Level: 52
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 178
    Overall activity: 0.5%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    savagerun's Avatar
    Member #
    41501
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,204
    Liked
    54 times
    Quote Originally Posted by IceAzures View Post
    Maybe it was the ROM i installed (VorteX Beta) but i was able to successfully install a ROM from .605
    Glad to hear that, vortex is a nice rom with great battery life. I dont think you'll have any problems trying 602 roms either.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

  11. #10
    X Informant
    Points: 826, Level: 15
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 74
    Overall activity: 0.5%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered7 days registered100 Experience Points
    IceAzures's Avatar
    Member #
    49217
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Somewhere in Cali
    Posts
    41
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by savagerun View Post
    Glad to hear that, vortex is a nice rom with great battery life. I dont think you'll have any problems trying 602 roms either.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums
    Yeah, and one last thing, I can switch from ROM to ROM right? just gotta do the same thing I did while switching to VorteX? (wipe all data/caches/dalvik)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [Rom]GingerBread Phone 7 v0.24b (9/26/11)
    By Peperm1nT in forum Droid X2 ROMS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-11-2011, 02:11 AM
  2. Rooting a phone that already has Gingerbread
    By triggsta in forum Gingerbread Development and Hacking
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-30-2011, 07:00 PM
  3. Rooting phone with OTA gingerbread
    By Ropiak in forum Droid X FAQs
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-09-2011, 09:57 PM
  4. Official Gingerbread shows up on its first phone...
    By mikey92 in forum Droid X General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-16-2011, 04:43 PM
  5. Rooting a stock Gingerbread phone?
    By h0tt 5auc3 in forum Droid X General Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-24-2011, 05:56 AM

Search tags for this page

new phone, now in gingerbread

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.