Cyanogen Mod 7 wifi issues

This is a discussion on Cyanogen Mod 7 wifi issues within the Droid X2 ROMS forums, part of the Droid X2 Hacks category; About a week ago I loaded up CM7 to my Droid X2 with the help of GoCliffGo. It's been great except for wifi. It doesn't ...


Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Cyanogen Mod 7 wifi issues

  1. #1
    X Lurker
    Points: 1,908, Level: 26
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 92
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    Pilky's Avatar
    Member #
    56476
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    24
    Liked
    0 times

    Cyanogen Mod 7 wifi issues

    About a week ago I loaded up CM7 to my Droid X2 with the help of GoCliffGo. It's been great except for wifi. It doesn't seem to hold the connection very well and when you do try and connect it, seems to just go into this endless loop trying to reconnect. The only solution is to turn it on and then off again.

    I have it set to never sleep but still no go?

    I'v seen others with the same issue but haven't heard about any fixes.

  2. Droid X Forums
    Ads


  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Supporting Member
    Points: 27,254, Level: 97
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 96
    Overall activity: 29.9%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points250 Experience Points100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    57283
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Maryland, U.S.
    Posts
    7,093
    Liked
    338 times
    I've heard about this from time to time but I'm unaware of any real "fix" since I never had the problem. It seems to affect some but not others.

    Does your router connect fine with other devices?

    You could also try to reflash the ROM + gapps (with no wipes) in case it was a problem with the installation.

    Sent from my XT926 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2

  4. #3
    X Lurker
    Points: 1,908, Level: 26
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 92
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    Pilky's Avatar
    Member #
    56476
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    24
    Liked
    0 times
    It worked great before switching to cm7. The only other wireless device I use is my laptop and that works fine as well.

  5. #4
    X Lurker
    Points: 1,908, Level: 26
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 92
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    Pilky's Avatar
    Member #
    56476
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    24
    Liked
    0 times
    I'm on my phone now but I'll post the thread I seen with people having the same issue when I get on my PC

  6. #5
    X Lurker
    Points: 1,908, Level: 26
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 92
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    Pilky's Avatar
    Member #
    56476
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    24
    Liked
    0 times
    This is only one of the threads I found but it shows people having the same issue.
    http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sourc...BU25vTleeED__g

    No sense in reading it really, I was just curious if there was a known fix for it or not. Unfortunately wifi is something I use a lot so I might be going back to stock

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Supporting Member
    Points: 27,254, Level: 97
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 96
    Overall activity: 29.9%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points250 Experience Points100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    57283
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Maryland, U.S.
    Posts
    7,093
    Liked
    338 times
    Could try a clean re-flash or if you're willing to go to 2.3.5 Eclipse is solid.

    Sent from my XT926 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2

  8. #7
    X Lurker
    Points: 1,908, Level: 26
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 92
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    Pilky's Avatar
    Member #
    56476
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    24
    Liked
    0 times
    I'm gonna try a re flash and see what happens. Wipe cache and everything else as well, right?

  9. #8
    Super Moderator
    Supporting Member
    Points: 27,254, Level: 97
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 96
    Overall activity: 29.9%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points250 Experience Points100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    57283
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Maryland, U.S.
    Posts
    7,093
    Liked
    338 times
    I would wipe everything to start completely fresh. That being said you can also just wipe cache and dalvik then reflash the ROM and GApps.

    Sent from my XT926 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2

  10. #9
    X Lurker
    Points: 1,922, Level: 26
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 78
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points100 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered7 days registered
    wtrp102's Avatar
    Member #
    53697
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    11
    Liked
    0 times
    Pilky
    Did you solve your wi-fi issue? If so - how?

  11. #10
    X Lurker
    Points: 1,908, Level: 26
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 92
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    Pilky's Avatar
    Member #
    56476
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    24
    Liked
    0 times
    Unfortunately I solved it sbfing back to stock and using Titanium Backup to remove all the bloat.

    CM7 was great but I need wifi. The fact that it wouldn't hold a wifi connection/take forever to connect was enough for me to go back to stock.


    I may give Eclipse a shot if I'm feeling bored one of these days but for now its stock de-bloated.

    Good luck

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Wifi Issues
    By kaiden32 in forum Droid X Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-29-2012, 10:24 PM
  2. Need help with WIFI issues
    By Sphinx8751 in forum Cyanogenmod
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-28-2011, 10:04 PM
  3. Wifi Issues
    By Konceptz804 in forum Gingerbread General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-23-2011, 12:29 PM
  4. WiFi Issues
    By ChadB in forum Droid X Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 11:47 PM
  5. Wifi issues
    By in forum Droid X ROMs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-31-1969, 07:00 PM

Search tags for this page

cm7 droid x2 wifi fix
,
cm7 x2 wifi
,
cyanogenmod 7 droid x2 wifi
,

cyanogenmod 7 wifi

,

cyanogenmod 7 wifi fix

,

cyanogenmod 7 wifi not working

,
cyanogenmod wifi
,

cyanogenmod wifi not working

,

droid x wifi fix

,
wifi not working with cynogenmod toshiba thrive
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.