Dumb Question

This is a discussion on Dumb Question within the Droid X2 Hacks forums, part of the Droid X2 Forum category; I'm new to the world of droids and I was wondering if there was any way to root gingerbread other than sbfing and installing the ...

Thread: Dumb Question

X Informant
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 56
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points250 Experience Points100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    Member #
    Liked
    0 times

Dumb Question

I'm new to the world of droids and I was wondering if there was any way to root gingerbread other than sbfing and installing the pre-rooted gingerbread file?

2. Droid X Forums
    Ads

Technician X
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 421
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience Points500 Experience Points250 Experience Points7 days registered100 Experience Points
    Member #
    Liked
    142 times
    Nope.

X Lurker Achievements:
    7 days registered
    Member #
    Liked
    0 times
    If you are running froyo (2.2.2), you can root with gingerbreak 1.2, install the recovery bootloader, and install P3's pre-rooted GB. If you are already running Gingerbread (2.3.3) then you will have to .sbf back to 2.2.2.

Themer
    Theme Developer
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points100 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered7 days registered
    Member #
    Liked
    20 times
    It sounds more intimidating and harder than it really is

root, roms and themes oh my!

X Lurker Achievements:
    7 days registered
    Member #
    Liked
    0 times
    Agreed... if you can read and follow directions you can do this no problem.
    UPDATED - [HOW-TO] SBF back to stock Froyo, Update to P3Droids Pre-Rooted GB Update - xda-developers <-- Read and Follow

X Informant
    Achievements: