[guide] The Complete Beginners Guide for Installing a ROM (liberty 1.5)

This is a discussion on [guide] The Complete Beginners Guide for Installing a ROM (liberty 1.5) within the Droid X Member Submitted Guides forums, part of the Droid X RS Guides category; How to Root, and ROM a Droid X Putting this together for complete beginners wanting to put Liberty on their stock unrooted Droid X. I ...

Closed Thread

Thread: [guide] The Complete Beginners Guide for Installing a ROM (liberty 1.5)

X Conveyor Achievements:
    500 Experience Points250 Experience Points31 days registered100 Experience Points7 days registered
    Member #
    Liked
    20 times

[guide] The Complete Beginners Guide for Installing a ROM (liberty 1.5)

How to Root, and ROM a Droid X

Putting this together for complete beginners wanting to put Liberty on their stock unrooted Droid X. I chose Liberty for this because it is the most user friendly ROM.

DO NOT DO THIS UNLESS YOUR BATTERY IS NEAR, OR FULLY CHARGED JUST TO BE ON THE SAFE SIDE

THINGS NEEDED:
    -USB cable
    -Z4Root from: MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service
    -Titanium Backup from Market: https://market.android.com/details?i...=search_result
    -Droid X Recovery Bootstrap from Market ($2): https://market.android.com/details?i...=search_result
    -Liberty 1.5 ROM: http://bit.ly/igjFKz

- The first thing to do is download Z4 Root from the link above on your computer, Plug your phone into your computer, and make sure it is in USB Mass storage mode (swipe down from the top bar, select USB Connection, USB Mass Storage)

- Drag the apk file you downloaded for z4root to the Removable disk drive under My Computer on windows, once it is done copying, disconnect the phone from your computer.

- Go to Settings, select applications, and check "Unknown Sources" then go to Development and check USB Debugging, then exit out of settings using the back button.