Caps and punctuation when using voice to text.

This is a discussion on Caps and punctuation when using voice to text. within the Droid X Help forums, part of the Droid X Discussion category; Is there a way to use caps and punctuation when using the built-in voice to text function? I'm primarily interested in this function as it ...


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Caps and punctuation when using voice to text.

  1. #1
    X Lurker Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered100 Experience Points
    set theorist's Avatar
    Member #
    3710
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Westchester County, New York
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    0 times

    Caps and punctuation when using voice to text.

    Is there a way to use caps and punctuation when using the built-in voice to text function? I'm primarily interested in this function as it pertains to dictating an e-mail.

  2. Droid X Forums
    Ads


  3. #2
    Administrator
    Supporting Member
    Points: 72,595, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.1%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience Points500 Experience Points250 Experience Points7 days registered100 Experience Points
    smalltowngirl13's Avatar
    Member #
    710
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    20,500
    Liked
    883 times
    When dictating meassage, speak your punctuation as well...example - hi comma how are you question mark I hope good. It will add the punctuation & capitalize next word.

    Sent from my DROIDX

    Failure isn't falling down, failure is staying down.

    Guidelines of Conduct for DroidXForums.com


  4. #3
    X Operative
    Points: 2,109, Level: 27
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 41
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points250 Experience PointsThree Friends100 Experience Points7 days registered
    bozidar0's Avatar
    Member #
    1510
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    248
    Liked
    7 times
    Wow, I never would have realized that! I still need to train my X to my voice. but it does a good job for not being trained.
    -Bozidar0, PHP Programmer
    Rooted, (FlyX, Black Glass), Droid X 2.2

  5. #4
    X Lurker Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered100 Experience Points
    set theorist's Avatar
    Member #
    3710
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Westchester County, New York
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    0 times
    WOW!!! Voice training? Please, tell me how. I'm real interested in improving my recognition accuracy.

  6. #5
    X Informant
    Points: 2,023, Level: 27
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 127
    Overall activity: 0.1%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    pastrygirl's Avatar
    Member #
    874
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    95
    Liked
    13 times
    I just read about it in another thread. Pull up the voice command menu, then press the menu button and go to Settings. The adaptation option is there. I just did it and am hoping it makes a big difference!

  7. #6
    X Conveyor Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class500 Experience Points250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    baniels's Avatar
    Member #
    30
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    52556
    Posts
    369
    Liked
    26 times
    Something tells me the training isn't going to effect the accuracy of the dictation when using the voice-to-text found when using the microphone icon within the keyboard. I am thinking that Motorola's voice commands is different than google's text-to-speech used natively in all 2.1+ Android systems.

    You will notice that if you try to use the microphone option within the keyboard if your phone doesn't have an active data connection, it won't even let you speak. It will say there is a connection problem. It sends the audio to the cloud for voice-to-text.

    Quote Originally Posted by pastrygirl View Post
    I just read about it in another thread. Pull up the voice command menu, then press the menu button and go to Settings. The adaptation option is there. I just did it and am hoping it makes a big difference!

  8. #7
    X Lurker
    Points: 1,152, Level: 18
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered3 months registered100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    barryvabeach's Avatar
    Member #
    1396
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    10
    Liked
    1 times
    Baniels, I agree. In fact I have tried to find another speech recognition software because I get the error message that it can't connect to server ( after you wait for a while for it to do the conversion) fairly often. Dragon is available for BB, but it doesn't seem like it is available for Droid.

  9. #8
    X Lurker druit's Avatar
    Member #
    3776
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    11
    Liked
    0 times
    If you go into voice command , then setting , then audio adaptation it will work much better. I have an accent ( French ) and it works for me very well, I do not type text message any more , just use voice call and perfect even with the French accent and trust me I do have an accent

  10. #9
    X Pursuant
    Points: 4,469, Level: 42
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 81
    Overall activity: 0.1%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience Points500 Experience Points7 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points
    BOWIE's Avatar
    Member #
    1078
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    603
    Liked
    39 times
    Wow exclamation point I didn apostrophe t know that it had those features period Other than crashing comma the voice program has been working very well for me period

  11. #10
    X Informant
    Points: 2,023, Level: 27
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 127
    Overall activity: 0.1%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    pastrygirl's Avatar
    Member #
    874
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    95
    Liked
    13 times
    Well, I went through adaptation and now it works MUCH worse for me. Is there a way to undo it?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. DROID X - Voice Command, Voice Search
    By JimMariner in forum Droid X FAQs
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-10-2011, 11:53 PM
  2. Voice-to-text working sporadically
    By drummer in forum Droid X Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-03-2010, 08:19 PM
  3. Voice command - can't get it to text
    By DX77 in forum Droid X Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-22-2010, 01:49 AM
  4. Cancelling Text Plan Because of how Aesome Google Voice SMS Works
    By floydiannyc in forum Droid X General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-21-2010, 06:09 PM
  5. DROID X - Text Entry, Swype, Speech to Text
    By JimMariner in forum Droid X FAQs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-15-2010, 12:36 AM

Search tags for this page

Google voice punctuation

,

android speech recognition punctuation

,

android speech to text capitalization

,

android voice recognition punctuation

,

android voice to text punctuation

,
google voice punctuation commands
,

google voice recognition punctuation

,
google voice to text punctuation
,

google voice typing punctuation

,
voice to text punctuation
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.