Noob Friendly Verizon Root and CM7 ROM Guide for Droid X .621 OTA Update

This is a discussion on Noob Friendly Verizon Root and CM7 ROM Guide for Droid X .621 OTA Update within the Droid X Hacks forums, part of the Droid X Development category; Originally Posted by aryavat Understood. I thought being on 604 i could use the rsdlite. Just to get this straight, you think i should SBF ...


+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 14 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 132
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: Noob Friendly Verizon Root and CM7 ROM Guide for Droid X .621 OTA Update

  1. #11
    X Informant
    Points: 1,241, Level: 19
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0.2%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registeredTagger Second Class
    holycow131415's Avatar
    Member #
    57026
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    38
    Liked
    6 times
    Quote Originally Posted by aryavat View Post
    Understood. I thought being on 604 i could use the rsdlite.

    Just to get this straight, you think i should SBF to 621 with linux and then activate it with verizon? then go about the whole process of sbfing to milestone with the linux cd and root and rom...?

    Thanks BTW for the prompt replies!
    Lol,I'm bored at work right now. What version of verizon ota did you have in the first place? i assumed you had .621 . Milestone goes off a different number system(and that is why its 604 for milestone), and we sbf to milestone because they use the same bootloader. Anyway, I would activate it now just to make sure 3g/calling/texting is working before sbfing to milestone again.

    Here is the sbf file of verizon's .621 [SBF and Update] Original Gingergread 2.3.4 SBF for Droid X MB810 Verizon USA - xda-developers

  2. Droid X Forums
    Ads


  3. #12
    X Lurker
    Points: 137, Level: 2
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 1.6%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience Points31 days registeredTagger Second Class7 days registered
    aryavat's Avatar
    Member #
    57311
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13
    Liked
    0 times
    thanks - i have that thread in my favorites as well.
    are you suggesting i activate on the current milestone that i have or to sbf it to 621 and then activate.
    if 621 first - is rsd lite ok for that or do i HAVE to do it in linux?

  4. #13
    X Informant
    Points: 1,241, Level: 19
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0.2%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registeredTagger Second Class
    holycow131415's Avatar
    Member #
    57026
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    38
    Liked
    6 times
    Quote Originally Posted by aryavat View Post
    thanks - i have that thread in my favorites as well.
    are you suggesting i activate on the current milestone that i have or to sbf it to 621 and then activate.
    if 621 first - is rsd lite ok for that or do i HAVE to do it in linux?
    Im suggesting sbf to 621 because milestone might be asking to activate on the nTelos network. you can try to activate if you want, but if it doesnt go through, then thats the reason. using rsd lite to go to 621 should be fine.

  5. #14
    X Lurker
    Points: 137, Level: 2
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 1.6%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience Points31 days registeredTagger Second Class7 days registered
    aryavat's Avatar
    Member #
    57311
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13
    Liked
    0 times
    flashing the 621 as i write. hey - i have never done an update from a file. Can i flash it from RSD as well?

  6. #15
    X Informant
    Points: 1,241, Level: 19
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0.2%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registeredTagger Second Class
    holycow131415's Avatar
    Member #
    57026
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    38
    Liked
    6 times
    things like installing patches or gapps that come in zips is what cwm recovery is for I'm not sure if you can use rsd lite.

  7. #16
    X Lurker
    Points: 137, Level: 2
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 1.6%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience Points31 days registeredTagger Second Class7 days registered
    aryavat's Avatar
    Member #
    57311
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13
    Liked
    0 times
    sorry to sound so naive...i knew about the CWM but wouldn't it need root access to the phone for flashing/installing anything..I just SBFed back to .621.

    I guess a more pertinent q would be - do i also need to apply the update after sbfing or not?

  8. #17
    X Informant
    Points: 1,241, Level: 19
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0.2%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registeredTagger Second Class
    holycow131415's Avatar
    Member #
    57026
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    38
    Liked
    6 times
    Yeah, going to .621 is to get you back to where you started so that you can get your radio back with verizon. Then use my guide to use the linux cd to go to milestone and then root milestone with zergrush thats on the cd. then to then flash cm7, etc etc.

  9. #18
    X Lurker
    Points: 137, Level: 2
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 1.6%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience Points31 days registeredTagger Second Class7 days registered
    aryavat's Avatar
    Member #
    57311
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13
    Liked
    0 times
    Actually was asking, whether I needed to flash the update as well before talking to Verizon to activate. The .621 sbf alone was not letting me activate on Verizon's automated system. The cwm route for flashing the update needed me to root the phone and wanted to avoid if unnecessary, as i was going to re-do everything after activation anyways.

    Anyways - i called verizon yesterday on 621 sbf, and they had to 'reprogram' (as they called it) to activate. Took quite a bit of time .

    Last night went back to milestone via linux and rooted via zergrush. Dont want to flash CM7 anymore. Rootzwiki says 2nd-init based roms are more stable on milestone.

    Any suggestions/experience with other ROMS?

  10. #19
    X Informant
    Points: 1,241, Level: 19
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0.2%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registeredTagger Second Class
    holycow131415's Avatar
    Member #
    57026
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    38
    Liked
    6 times
    Cool, glad you are back on a working phone.

    Nope, but been looking around. i picked CM7 because it is the most active gingerbread ROM in updating right now, actually had nice install instructions by the OP for noobs, stable (not beta), and there forum is nicely structured and neat. 2nd choice would be the liberty rom from rootzwiki, but seems like it hasn't been moving anywhere. The rest are ICS roms, which are buggy beta's cause DX doesnt have drivers for everything since ICS isnt officially coming to the DX.

    2nd int rom, youd only need d2bootstrapper to boot into recovery from there for 2nd int roms i think. but since you have rom manager anyway, you can use CWM too, and you are on a gb kernel, so use gb roms

    Droid X Development - RootzWiki

    Good luck!
    Last edited by holycow131415; 04-06-2012 at 11:02 AM.

  11. #20
    X Lurker
    Points: 137, Level: 2
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 1.6%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience Points31 days registeredTagger Second Class7 days registered
    aryavat's Avatar
    Member #
    57311
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13
    Liked
    0 times
    thanks - hey did you have problems with swype on CM7... i dont see swype in my options ...is there a way to get the stock swype back?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 14 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Can D3 one click work on regular Verizon Droid X?? Sorry I'm a noob to all of this.
    By WTSLDROIDX213 in forum Gingerbread Development and Hacking
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-29-2011, 12:52 PM
  2. When will droid get more corporate user friendly ?
    By plumcrazy in forum Droid X General Discussion
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 04-24-2011, 07:18 PM
  3. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12-06-2010, 10:39 PM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-09-2010, 02:30 PM
  5. Droid X (1st time Root) NooB
    By cloudsdale in forum Droid X Hacks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-25-2010, 11:05 PM

Search tags for this page

cm 7 droid x
,

cm7 droid x

,

cm7 for droid x

,
cm7 on droid x
,
cm7 on droid x .621
,

droid x cm7

,

droid x root

,
rooting droid x
,

your phone is not currently set up to be used as a modem

,

your phone is not currently setup to be used as a modem

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.

Tags for this Thread