Can't rename file in Root Explorer

This is a discussion on Can't rename file in Root Explorer within the Droid X Hacks forums, part of the Droid X Development category; I am attempting to install one of HarleyDudes great boot animations, after dn loading Root Explorer and trying to rename the bootanimation.zip, I get the ...


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Can't rename file in Root Explorer

  1. #1
    X Lurker
    Points: 317, Level: 6
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 33
    Overall activity: 0.3%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered100 Experience Points7 days registered
    groundpounder's Avatar
    Member #
    45722
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Liked
    0 times

    Can't rename file in Root Explorer

    I am attempting to install one of HarleyDudes great boot animations, after dn loading Root Explorer and trying to rename the bootanimation.zip, I get the error msg ( can't rename file,file system is read only ). I know there should be a way to change it but can't seem to figure it out, I have a Droid X Rooted, W/ Darkslide rom installed. Any ideas on this? Thanks

  2. Droid X Forums
    Ads


  3. #2
    Agent X
    Points: 6,119, Level: 50
    Level completed: 85%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 2.7%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points250 Experience Points31 days registered100 Experience Points7 days registered
    fc127's Avatar
    Member #
    27223
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cortland, NY
    Posts
    1,173
    Liked
    36 times
    There should be a button at the top right of the screen that will say "mount r/w" or something to that effect. Tap on that to switch between Read/Write and Read Only.

    Don't know what we are talking about? Check the Android Dictionary
    Think you know what to do? Look at THIS first.
    Root .602 & .605 info here.

    Need to SBF? Try this.

    DROOOID Notification Sound

    Gingerbread Red "M" Boot Logo

    Froyo White "M" Boot Logo


  4. #3
    Technician X
    Points: 9,994, Level: 66
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 56
    Overall activity: 1.2%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    TideFan22's Avatar
    Member #
    23940
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florence,Alabama
    Posts
    3,097
    Liked
    64 times
    At the top there's a tab that says mounted as, click it where it says mounted as r/w in the tab. R/W means read/write where u can edit files and such, R/O means read/only where u can't edit and stuff. Ninja'd shouldn't have went into details. Lol

    Sent from CM7 on the GB kernel

  5. #4
    X Lurker
    Points: 317, Level: 6
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 33
    Overall activity: 0.3%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered100 Experience Points7 days registered
    groundpounder's Avatar
    Member #
    45722
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Liked
    0 times
    There is a button to select R/W or R/O, tried it both ways and still get the same error!

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Supporting Member
    Points: 62,220, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 3.8%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    HarleyDude's Avatar
    Member #
    19213
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Philly area
    Posts
    8,152
    Liked
    452 times
    try rebooting then setting it for R/W
    Al;ternately, grab ES file explorer from the market (free), go into settings, at the bottom enable root function, then enable r/w, then under files, enable view hidden files and you should be good

  7. #6
    Agent X
    Points: 6,119, Level: 50
    Level completed: 85%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 2.7%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points250 Experience Points31 days registered100 Experience Points7 days registered
    fc127's Avatar
    Member #
    27223
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cortland, NY
    Posts
    1,173
    Liked
    36 times
    Try uninstalling and reinstalling Root Explorer... Did you allow root permissions when you first opened it?

    Don't know what we are talking about? Check the Android Dictionary
    Think you know what to do? Look at THIS first.
    Root .602 & .605 info here.

    Need to SBF? Try this.

    DROOOID Notification Sound

    Gingerbread Red "M" Boot Logo

    Froyo White "M" Boot Logo


  8. #7
    Advocate X Achievements:
    500 Experience Points31 days registered250 Experience Points7 days registered100 Experience Points
    The persuader's Avatar
    Member #
    12986
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    5,603
    Liked
    66 times
    Quote Originally Posted by groundpounder View Post
    There is a button to select R/W or R/O, tried it both ways and still get the same error!
    When you Open Root Explorer...very top...you be able to toggle from r/o or r/w...r/w may already be opened...
    Scroll down to SD Card...Open...then Open Clockwork..then to Backup...Long press your last B-up then chose...Rename...use - the your File name...no spaces...

    Its Bubba
    It's Going Along for the Ride...

    "Stubborn In You're Bones"

  9. #8
    X Lurker
    Points: 317, Level: 6
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 33
    Overall activity: 0.3%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered100 Experience Points7 days registered
    groundpounder's Avatar
    Member #
    45722
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Liked
    0 times
    Alright, rebooted and changed to RW , that did the trick!! if all else fails reboot...thanks for the quick response.

  10. #9
    Administrator
    Supporting Member
    Points: 62,220, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 3.8%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    HarleyDude's Avatar
    Member #
    19213
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Philly area
    Posts
    8,152
    Liked
    452 times
    Quote Originally Posted by groundpounder View Post
    Alright, rebooted and changed to RW , that did the trick!! if all else fails reboot...thanks for the quick response.
    hehe, np, heard my name mentioned, so....

  11. #10
    X Lurker
    Points: 317, Level: 6
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 33
    Overall activity: 0.3%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered100 Experience Points7 days registered
    groundpounder's Avatar
    Member #
    45722
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    23
    Liked
    0 times
    Once again great work HD, While here thought I'd ask, before Darkslide I Had Liberty installed, after Data and Cache Wipe and installing Darkslide I still get the liberty logo at startup, any way to get rid of that?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. ES File Explorer Update - Root Access
    By Snow02 in forum Droid X Apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-29-2011, 03:49 AM
  2. AntTek File Explorer
    By wicked in forum Droid X Apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-19-2011, 08:07 PM
  3. Root explorer and other file managers??
    By silver04v in forum Droid X Apps
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-05-2011, 10:27 AM
  4. ES File Explorer
    By Scooby7274 in forum Droid X Apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2011, 10:38 PM
  5. WiFi File Explorer not working ... looking for ideas
    By dtsig in forum Droid X General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-20-2011, 12:49 PM

Search tags for this page

cannot be renamed because the file system is read-only
,
cannot rename file android
,
cant rename boot animation
,
es file explorer cannot rename
,

es file explorer rename failed

,

es file explorer rename file

,
es file explorer task failed
,
es file manager task failed
,
how to rename files in root explorer
,

task failed es file explorer when renaming bootanimation

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.