how to update rooted stock froyo to rooted gingerbread-HELP!

This is a discussion on how to update rooted stock froyo to rooted gingerbread-HELP! within the Droid X General Discussion forums, part of the Droid X Discussion category; hey guys i still have rooted froyo on my dx and was wondering how if its possible to update to gingerbread and still keep my ...


Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: how to update rooted stock froyo to rooted gingerbread-HELP!

  1. #1
    X Lurker
    Points: 534, Level: 10
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0.6%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered7 days registeredTagger Second Class
    lilnba93's Avatar
    Member #
    31822
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    0 times

    how to update rooted stock froyo to rooted gingerbread-HELP!

    hey guys i still have rooted froyo on my dx and was wondering how if its possible to update to gingerbread and still keep my phone rooted. my friends were rooted froyo also and they just did the onboard update on the settings and they said their phones where still rooted afterwards. is that possible?? any advice would be great!

  2. Droid X Forums
    Ads


  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Supporting Member
    Points: 29,560, Level: 99
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 440
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    MICHO's Avatar
    Member #
    30057
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    behind a dumpster
    Posts
    4,602
    Liked
    97 times
    Yes you can update to rooted Gb.
    You will need the d2 bootstrap from the market and if you value your app data like how far you are in a game or settings for apps then you will need titanium backup pro or free both work well
    Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, and today is a gift; that's why they call it the present. -Eleanor Roosevelt

  4. #3
    RS Team Leader
    Supporting Member
    Points: 26,927, Level: 97
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 423
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    Awards:
    Activity Award
    popcenator's Avatar
    Member #
    21238
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    8,258
    Liked
    179 times
    Check my signature, if they took the OTA through settings -> About phone, they're not rooted as updating would have either failed or removed root.

  5. #4
    X Informant Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience Points31 days registered100 Experience Points7 days registered
    DeniseSays's Avatar
    Member #
    13148
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    41
    Liked
    1 times
    I was rooted on Froyo and updated using a two-part zip I downloaded (some Droid site, I just googled for it). I DLed the zips, transferred them onto my SD card. Then instead of using the d2 bootstrap (as many recommend.. mine kept giving me an error when I tried to bootstrap recovery :/ ), I rebooted into clockwork and used that to install both zips. And wa-la! Upgraded me to rooted-GB. (Not sure how GB was rooted, but my Wireless Tether root-app still works so no complaints)

  6. #5
    Super Moderator
    Supporting Member
    Points: 29,560, Level: 99
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 440
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points31 days registered250 Experience Points100 Experience Points7 days registered
    MICHO's Avatar
    Member #
    30057
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    behind a dumpster
    Posts
    4,602
    Liked
    97 times
    Quote Originally Posted by DeniseSays View Post
    I was rooted on Froyo and updated using a two-part zip I downloaded (some Droid site, I just googled for it). I DLed the zips, transferred them onto my SD card. Then instead of using the d2 bootstrap (as many recommend.. mine kept giving me an error when I tried to bootstrap recovery :/ ), I rebooted into clockwork and used that to install both zips. And wa-la! Upgraded me to rooted-GB. (Not sure how GB was rooted, but my Wireless Tether root-app still works so no complaints)
    Yah I wouldn't tether on Gb cuse vz is tracking you.
    And will back charge you for it
    Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, and today is a gift; that's why they call it the present. -Eleanor Roosevelt

  7. #6
    X Informant Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience Points31 days registered100 Experience Points7 days registered
    DeniseSays's Avatar
    Member #
    13148
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    41
    Liked
    1 times
    Good to know! lol

  8. #7
    X Lurker
    Points: 534, Level: 10
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0.6%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered7 days registeredTagger Second Class
    lilnba93's Avatar
    Member #
    31822
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    0 times
    so no more free tethering??!?!? and also thanks alot guys!

  9. #8
    X Pursuant
    Points: 3,387, Level: 36
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 113
    Overall activity: 5.6%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience Points31 days registered250 Experience Points7 days registered100 Experience Points
    Snipples007's Avatar
    Member #
    34930
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    813
    Liked
    11 times
    Quote Originally Posted by lilnba93 View Post
    so no more free tethering??!?!? and also thanks alot guys!
    You can still tether... you're just at risk of getting caught now.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums
    Running GingerSnips v. 007

  10. #9
    X Lurker
    Points: 534, Level: 10
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0.6%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered7 days registeredTagger Second Class
    lilnba93's Avatar
    Member #
    31822
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    0 times
    damn that sucks! i hope someone finds some hole or something haha
    thanks snipples

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [Guide] Froyo to Rooted .596 Gingerbread
    By dschwartz0815 in forum Gingerbread Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-15-2011, 12:17 AM
  2. Can I install Apex GB from Froyo stock rooted?
    By armedmonkey in forum ApeX
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-18-2011, 05:24 PM
  3. My Froyo DroidX is rooted. Do I need to "unroot" to get the OTA Gingerbread update?
    By jguitarguy27 in forum Gingerbread General Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-28-2011, 10:05 PM
  4. Stock Froyo (Rooted) to GB?
    By JDMKidBill in forum Gingerbread General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-24-2011, 11:48 AM
  5. Rooted Froyo OTA vs Gingerbread
    By droidXchick in forum Everything about Gingerbread
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-08-2010, 02:57 PM

Search tags for this page

droid x rooted froyo to gingerbread
,
how to update froyo to gingerbread
,

how to upgrade froyo to gingerbread

,
rooted froyo to gingerbread droid x
,

rooted gingerbread update

,

update froyo to gingerbread

,
update rooted froyo gingerbread
,
update to gingerbread on rooted phone
,

upgrade froyo to gingerbread

,

upgrade to gingerbread with rooted phone

Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.

Tags for this Thread