PDA

View Full Version : Purchased new Droid X - which is better version to root ?

MartyW
12-13-2014, 09:26 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to Android and this forum. I'm an old computer guy that just purchased a new Droid X to get familiar with it. My wife has had one for a couple years and loves it. I'm replacing my old work Blackberry with the DX.

I'd like to root my DX to do a full system backup. I've read a lot of info on rooting the DX but I'm still not confident enough to do it on my own yet. I've read about eFuse and bricking if rooting is done wrong.

My first question is which is the best version to root? My DX now has the system that I believe is popular to root (4.5.621.MB810.Verizon.en.US), but the latest version has downloaded and wants to install (45.621.10.en.US) . I haven't seen much on rooting the latest 45.621.10 version. So would it be best to root the current version and stick with it or upgrade to the latest version and root that 45.621 version?

Any and all pointers greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Marty

sd_shadow
12-13-2014, 11:09 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to Android and this forum. I'm an old computer guy that just purchased a new Droid X to get familiar with it. My wife has had one for a couple years and loves it. I'm replacing my old work Blackberry with the DX.

I'd like to root my DX to do a full system backup. I've read a lot of info on rooting the DX but I'm still not confident enough to do it on my own yet. I've read about eFuse and bricking if rooting is done wrong.

My first question is which is the best version to root? My DX now has the system that I believe is popular to root (4.5.621.MB810.Verizon.en.US), but the latest version has downloaded and wants to install (45.621.10.en.US) . I haven't seen much on rooting the latest 45.621.10 version. So would it be best to root the current version and stick with it or upgrade to the latest version and root that 45.621 version?

Any and all pointers greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,