PDA

View Full Version : AOKP used to work but is now stuck on splash screen



MikZ
04-09-2013, 10:07 PM
G'day peeps,

A couple of months ago I flashed AOKP for the first time. After some stuffing around I got it to work and have happily used my not-clunky-anymore Samsung Vibrant (a US mobile company's rebranding of the original Galaxy S) since... until this week. Now, when I boot, it gets stuck on the AOKP splash screen.

Sorry if this is already answered somewhere, but all my searching has only returned 'I just flashed my ROM'... 'so just flash a better one' discussions. But how can I troubleshoot this, without wiping everything? Are there log files I can look at to see where it's hanging?

The reason I'd rather not wipe everything, apart from the time it would take to restore backups, etc. is that I haven't done much of a back-up lately. I was overseas and didn't have much access to data connections to upload the back-ups. Indeed, the problem started soon after I put my original SIM card back in. This is exactly what caused the stock ROM to slow down to uselessness, and prompt me to install AOKP in the first place.

Things I've tried: Wiping just the cache, and of course using a fully charged battery. In the last few weeks I've found my device didn't even start booting when it was connected to the charger, so I've tried both with the charger connected and not.

FWIW, the ROM is AOKP vibrantmtd Milestone 6, an ICS build. Yes, it sounds like hardware issue, but it was working. I'd like to try to make it work again before doing anything drastic.

Thanks,
MikZ.

GoCliffGo05
04-09-2013, 10:25 PM
Moved to Off topic. This forum is specific to the droid x and the droid x2.

You may have better luck here: http://androidforums.com/samsung-vibrant/
o (http://androidforums.com/samsung-vibrant/)r here Samsung Vibrant - xda-developers (http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=708)

Nemo aeternamn
04-10-2013, 01:01 AM
+1 to what cliff said...

but one idea... which should help if it's something messed up in the software... is if you still have the rom.zip on your phone... just reflash it... with out wiping anything

MikZ
04-10-2013, 06:44 PM
Moved to Off topic. This forum is specific to the droid x and the droid x2.

You may have better luck here: http://androidforums.com/samsung-vibrant/
o (http://androidforums.com/samsung-vibrant/)r here Samsung Vibrant - xda-developers (http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=708)

My apologies. Thanks for the links.

MikZ
04-10-2013, 06:44 PM
Cheers—I'll give that a go.

MikZ
04-10-2013, 07:24 PM
For the benefit of anyone who lands here after a web search: I've reposted this question (almost verbatim) here: http://androidforums.com/samsung-vibrant/709115-aokp-used-work-but-now-stuck-splash-screen.html (http://androidforums.com/samsung-vibrant/709115-aokp-used-work-but-now-stuck-splash-screen.html#post5725421)

fezrock
04-10-2013, 07:39 PM
Thanks for the follow up :)

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2

MikZ
09-24-2013, 03:18 PM
I never did follow up on this properly. I've found that reinstalling the ROM .zip file without wiping first got my phone limping along well enough for me to back things up properly. Then I wiped the whole phone, reinstalled the ROM .zip again and restored all my data, and it worked real beaut... until I had to do it all again a few months later. But I'm getting good at it, and I'd rather do this every few months than buy new hardware and contribute to e-waste. ;-) Thanks again for all your help.