PDA

View Full Version : Cyanogen Mod 7 wifi issues



Pilky
03-17-2013, 05:37 PM
About a week ago I loaded up CM7 to my Droid X2 with the help of GoCliffGo. It's been great except for wifi. It doesn't seem to hold the connection very well and when you do try and connect it, seems to just go into this endless loop trying to reconnect. The only solution is to turn it on and then off again.

I have it set to never sleep but still no go?

I'v seen others with the same issue but haven't heard about any fixes.

GoCliffGo05
03-17-2013, 07:38 PM
I've heard about this from time to time but I'm unaware of any real "fix" since I never had the problem. It seems to affect some but not others.

Does your router connect fine with other devices?

You could also try to reflash the ROM + gapps (with no wipes) in case it was a problem with the installation.

Sent from my XT926 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2

Pilky
03-17-2013, 09:42 PM
It worked great before switching to cm7. The only other wireless device I use is my laptop and that works fine as well.

Pilky
03-17-2013, 09:44 PM
I'm on my phone now but I'll post the thread I seen with people having the same issue when I get on my PC

Pilky
03-23-2013, 05:05 AM
This is only one of the threads I found but it shows people having the same issue.
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CC0QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fforum.cyanogenmod.org%2Ftopic%2F5 4449-q-how-to-fix-my-not-working-wifi-video-showing-a-problem%2F&ei=XHxNUcuQA5Sj4APW9IGADQ&usg=AFQjCNEY8kuy7bT2kbAnBU25vTleeED__g

No sense in reading it really, I was just curious if there was a known fix for it or not. Unfortunately wifi is something I use a lot so I might be going back to stock :(

GoCliffGo05
03-23-2013, 12:10 PM
Could try a clean re-flash or if you're willing to go to 2.3.5 Eclipse is solid.

Sent from my XT926 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2

Pilky
03-23-2013, 03:08 PM
I'm gonna try a re flash and see what happens. Wipe cache and everything else as well, right?

GoCliffGo05
03-23-2013, 03:12 PM
I would wipe everything to start completely fresh. That being said you can also just wipe cache and dalvik then reflash the ROM and GApps.

Sent from my XT926 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2

wtrp102
04-28-2013, 01:57 PM
Pilky
Did you solve your wi-fi issue? If so - how?

Pilky
04-29-2013, 03:51 PM
Unfortunately I solved it sbfing back to stock and using Titanium Backup to remove all the bloat.

CM7 was great but I need wifi. The fact that it wouldn't hold a wifi connection/take forever to connect was enough for me to go back to stock.


I may give Eclipse a shot if I'm feeling bored one of these days but for now its stock de-bloated.

Good luck