PDA

View Full Version : Hello Droid X noob

fofopuka
12-23-2012, 10:52 PM
Hi all, Droid X noob here, I just got a used Droid X it is not activated, I wanted to play around with it on wi-fi for the time being. For some reason when the power is turned on the phone boots into Clockwork mod recovery with menu options to reboot phone now, wipe/reset to factory, etc.

I chose wipe/reset, got it to boot up looking normal and played with it a bit, then turned it off. When I turn it on it again boots to clockwork mod recovery. I again wiped/rebooted, it shows the Liberty wallpaper and the phone information says MOD/ROM: Liberty v1.5 Android version 2.2.1 Baseband version BP_C_01.09.07P Kernel version 2.6.32.9-g55626e1w30471@il93lnxdroid08 #1 Build number VZW

I have not rooted any of my phones before, nor am I particularly interested in changing ROMs, I just want to get the phone working so it starts when I press the power button. I don't care if the OS is Liberty or Froyo or whatever. Help, please!

BHuber09
12-23-2012, 10:57 PM
Dont always wipe! Itll delete everything you have saved on the phone ie apps, email, ect. (not anything on the sd though)
Its a froyo (android 2.2.1) rom bug, what you can do either update it (through an sbf) or you can turn to the darkside and learn how awesome it is to rom your phone and become an addict like us haha

fofopuka
12-23-2012, 11:13 PM
Hi, thanks for your input.

I thought the Liberty wallpaper means this phone has been rooted to the Liberty ROM. I just got this used phone, I wanted to erase anything left by the former owner anyway.

I have been checking the internet, some pages said Liberty has the option to boot like this every time, and to just leave it alone. Some said this behavior is a CWM boot loop.

I found this thread which describes something similar:

http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/team-liberty/26902-liberty-v0-5-always-boots-into-clock-work-mod.html