PDA

View Full Version : Attempting a .605 flash for root, Could someone Help with info?

Fry_Man
08-10-2012, 09:32 AM
Since i purchased my DX from a local shop, And it has a 30day warranty, I am gonna attempt doing the milestone flash to .605 for root. Its .621 ATM

If all else fails and i FUBAR it i can take it in and play the dumb customer "it just started crashing and turned off, Now it does xxxxx"

Anyway. Since i am new to DX and have never done a root method as in depth as the DX method is, i had a few questions.

1) Any pro DX flashers if you could give me any pre-flash tips or heads up ? Are there any things i really need to be careful with?

1.5) Can i do the flash totally within windows or do i have to use linux? Whats the easiest way to do a boot into linux?

2) Where can i find the most complete step by step instructions for doing the root flash ?

3) After gaining root, Where can i find instructions on flashing something other than stock ROM?

4) Opinions on which ROM is the best for stability / performance.

I hope some people can gimmi some pointers. I had a samsung fascinate and because i live in a rural area, every time im out the carrier signal quality is piss poor, And apparently the phantom back button bug is hardware not software. And it happend 50% of the time. Wasnt for that i woulda kept it.

I like the DX alot also though. If i can get it rooted i will be VERY happy with it.

THANK YOU!

DirtyDroid
08-10-2012, 09:55 AM
Welcome...because its on 621 you can't revert back to 605...but you can still root and flash ..I'm heading into work so sorry for the small post...I'll get links when I find some time

tap'd from the Gnex

jeems
08-10-2012, 09:57 AM
1.) I have never done the .621 root but here's all the info. It should be pretty straightforward, just make sure you follow all the instructions. Just don't worry and if you have problems come back here and someone should be able to help you.