PDA

View Full Version : police copying data from smartphones

xspacemonkey85x
04-13-2012, 08:51 PM
US Police Can Copy Your iPhone’s Contents In Under Two Minutes - The Next Web
(http://thenextweb.com/us/2011/04/20/us-police-can-copy-your-iphones-contents-in-under-two-minutes/)
Who is aware of this? I'm currently running AOKP ICS on my droidX... I'm curious if this device would even be able to connect to my phone since half the drivers are GB and barely function correctly on my phone. Also, wouldn't apps like Cerberus or Mobile defense be capable of blocking said device?

The wheel it turns, it rolls around. It makes an ancient rumbling sound.

noXcuse
04-13-2012, 09:28 PM
Just to settle your thinking a little bit, I've been a cop for quite a few years now. We have these. The only time they get used is to gather gang intelligence, drug dealing evidence, homicide evidence, stiff like that. There is case law that says cell phones can be searched incident to arrest, if the cell phone could've been used in the crime. It's done immediately, and does not require a warrant, because of the fact that cell phones can be wiped remotely. If you ain't committing major crimes then don't worry about it. It'll never affect you.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

DroidlynnXDoes
04-13-2012, 09:35 PM
Does that mean if you were texting someone and talked about doing something illegal (which I don't do anything illegal), that they can intercept your text messages?

The X is watching! DROOOOIIIID!

casper55117
04-13-2012, 10:07 PM