PDA

View Full Version : Throttle?



Travisdroidx
02-15-2012, 08:08 PM
Ok so I'm running vorteX forget which version but that doesn't matter. In the toolbox there is a throttle option to install or uninstall throttle. Can someone tell me what throttle actually is I couldn't find a sticky or anything :) if u can thank you

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

Leach19m
02-15-2012, 08:13 PM
Throttle hack removes the ability for Verizon to slow down your Internet from your phone. However, I think that's likely a moot point now that throttling it done from the tower

dennyjones
02-15-2012, 08:32 PM
However, I think that's likely a moot point now that throttling it done from the tower

Please explain this to me. I didn't hear about this.

Leach19m
02-15-2012, 08:39 PM
The "network optimization" they announced months ago. If you're on an unlimited plan and using 3G, on a congested tower, and are among the top 5% of users (defined as over 5gb/month) you will be throttled, while on that tower. In theory, according to VZW, if the tower becomes uncongested or you move to an uncongested tower, your speeds return to normal.