PDA

View Full Version : Root? On. 602 ota update?



gravybird
10-19-2011, 05:11 PM
Forgive me forum, for I have sinned! I am totally out of the loop. I have been on the tbh rooted version of 596 for months now. If I take on the 602. will I be able to use z4 to regain root?

Nemo aeternamn
10-19-2011, 05:13 PM
no... but you can use the ginger root link in my sig...

gravybird
10-19-2011, 05:21 PM
Now I see there is a 605... Wow! What would be my best path to getting to a rooted 605? The ota reminder I'm getting is for 602 :-)

macpro88
10-19-2011, 05:23 PM
Now I see there is a 605... Wow! What would be my best path to getting to a rooted 605? The ota reminder I'm getting is for 602 :-)

Install .602 first, then check for updates again, the .605 update from .602 is very small and won't take as much time. It is still rootable as well by the current root method.

gravybird
10-19-2011, 11:05 PM
Thanks macpro. I'll give it a shot. Do you think it will accept the 602 ota, over the tbh rooted 596 file that I flashed?

macpro88
10-19-2011, 11:14 PM
Thanks macpro. I'll give it a shot. Do you think it will accept the 602 ota, over the tbh rooted 596 file that I flashed?

Possibly unless you froze bloat then it will just fail at install

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk

gravybird
10-21-2011, 07:29 PM
Hey that worked macpro. I am updated to 605. Now I still have superuser app in the tray, but no root. Upon reboot I get the little flashes saying that certain apps have been granted su permissions, but they obviously don't work :( will z4 get me root again? Geesh it's been a while since I have monkeyed with this stuff :-)

gravybird
10-21-2011, 08:16 PM
Nevermind on the z4 question. A little bit of searching turned up that answer :-) who'd of thunk it? Now just to figure out the method on my Mac :-)

gravybird
10-22-2011, 12:12 AM
ok, so I tried the root method for mac using terminal. after the first reboot, it says "failed because files already exist", and "your phone should be rooted" so I tried, and it isn't. I tried the root process again, and it said "hey weirdo your phone is already rooted" so I gave it a reboot just for fun, tried some of my root apps, and they don't work. I get all the little flashes after reboot saying that these apps have been granted s/u permissions, but when I try to use them, they don't work. any ideas??

kifey
10-22-2011, 11:02 AM
Sbf then factory reset maybe? Bit then all your appear and so on will be gone. Id stay with what u had or .602. The update to. 605 made my x really slow and laggy and the battery life was reduced by half. Don't do it lol

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

Nemo aeternamn
10-22-2011, 11:20 AM
ok, so I tried the root method for mac using terminal. after the first reboot, it says "failed because files already exist", and "your phone should be rooted" so I tried, and it isn't. I tried the root process again, and it said "hey weirdo your phone is already rooted" so I gave it a reboot just for fun, tried some of my root apps, and they don't work. I get all the little flashes after reboot saying that these apps have been granted s/u permissions, but when I try to use them, they don't work. any ideas??

Try clearing data/cache for su

We have nothing to fear but running out of beer

gravybird
10-22-2011, 05:38 PM
Ok I'll give those a shot when I get home tonight :-) thank you!

gravybird
10-23-2011, 12:45 AM
arghhhh. no luck yet. cleared data on s/u app. no luck. did a factory reset, than tried to re-toot, no luck:-(

Nemo aeternamn
10-23-2011, 12:55 AM
Hmm... Have you tried clearing the cache on your phone?


We have nothing to fear but running out of beer

gravybird
10-23-2011, 08:12 AM
how would I do that without being able to use bootstrapper? I can't get into reboot recovery. Is there another way?:crazy:

gravybird
10-23-2011, 08:26 AM
forget I even asked that one, I forgot about factory recovery