PDA

View Full Version : Nandroid seems stuck



pmbasehore
10-17-2011, 08:18 AM
I made a nandroid backup of my .602 stock before I flashed Liberty V.9. I decided I wanted to try Vortex, so I wanted to restore my nandroid back to .602 (since Liberty is on .596) so I can install Vortex. However, my restore has been stuck on "Restoring data...files" for over ten minutes now. That doesn't seem right to me.
Does this mean my backup got corrupted somehow?
I'm assuming since "Restoring system..." is complete, that I can battery-pull and still boot, unless one of you have another idea.

I don't mind SBFing if I have to, but I'd like to avoid it if possible (especially since I've never done it before). I'll just use the SBF tutorial here on the forums if I must.

Thanks!

hillbilliegreg
10-17-2011, 08:45 AM
you should be able to flash vortex over the 596

pmbasehore
10-17-2011, 08:49 AM
Yeah, I tried that after I posted this. I cold-booted into recovery (Vol-Down + Power) and installed the zip from there. It seemed to go OK; it just finished booting.

In the future, what should I do if a similar nandroid restore glitch happens again?

hillbilliegreg
10-17-2011, 08:52 AM
Yeah, I tried that after I posted this. I cold-booted into recovery (Vol-Down + Power) and installed the zip from there. It seemed to go OK; it just finished booting.

In the future, what should I do if a similar nandroid restore glitch happens again?

always have at least 2 nandroid backups, better odds

popcenator
10-17-2011, 08:52 AM
You could try a data, cache, and dalvik cache wipe before restoring. If it still doesn't restore you may have to scrap the backup.

pmbasehore
10-17-2011, 09:01 AM
Ahh, I didn't do any of that (I figured the nandroid would just write over all of it). Should I do a full wipe before any restore, or just if I have issues?

popcenator
10-17-2011, 09:13 AM
The only time I ever do is if I have problems restoring.

pmbasehore
10-17-2011, 09:16 AM
Great, thanks guys!

towbiz
10-17-2011, 09:17 AM
I got stuck on apex2.0 backup to cm4dx just took me back to apex ended up reflashing cm4dx once there backup worked fine idk

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

popcenator
10-17-2011, 09:25 AM
It also makes a difference which recovery you used to backup, 5.0.2.0 backs up differently than earlier recoveries so if you made a backup with the recent recovery, you can only restore it in that recovery.

towbiz
10-17-2011, 09:31 AM
Makes sense thanks pops

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

popcenator
10-17-2011, 09:37 AM
You're very welcome.

as_daylight_dies
10-18-2011, 12:50 AM
Ahh, I didn't do any of that (I figured the nandroid would just write over all of it). Should I do a full wipe before any restore, or just if I have issues?

I full wipe before any restore just in case. Not 100% sure if it actually makes a difference though

Sent from my Droid X running MIUI 1.9.23