PDA

View Full Version : Data throttle hack for Stock ROM 4.5.602 ?

Armond30
09-22-2011, 03:05 PM
I was wondering if anyone had a data throttle hack or mod for a stock rom .602. I am VERY new to modifying my Droid X, and I just rooted my phone for the first time 2 days ago. I plan on Deodexing the phone tonight because I beleive that is necessary to change the services.jar file. I have a root explorer, but I have no idea as to how the file structure for the phone is layed out. Can anyone help me figure out how to do a throttle mod for my stock rom .602 phone? I am a heavy user now due to hulu/netflix/youtube, and I would like for my phone to play those just as good as it used to before my internet speeds slowed from 1.5 MB to 100 KB :(!

any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

macpro88
09-22-2011, 03:48 PM
Well first I need to ask, do you use more than the 5GB of data a month? If not, then don't worry about it.

But anyways, you need to be deodexed to edit the services.jar file.

And I do not think anyone has modified it yet.

dig'em
09-22-2011, 04:06 PM
Also, Verizon has started throttling all of their customers who useover 2gb on high traffic towers (they call it network optimization.)

This is according to their page on their website. I started a thread about it but it was closed because some couldn't hold a civil tongue.

The result is that now it is impossible to tell when and where they will throttle you on the network side.

Here is Verizon's page on the issue, although it all sounds pretty vague as to how it works.

http://support.vzw.com/information/data_disclosure.html

froyo crusaider

Armond30
09-22-2011, 05:44 PM