PDA

View Full Version : Help Please...new to Roms

icedice34
09-15-2011, 11:35 AM
I am running a DROID X .602 Rooted. I downloaded and tried to install cyanogenmod and google apps last night. I used DROID x bootstrapper, wiped data/factory, wiped cache, then ran the cyanogenmod and gapps zip files. My phone then simply flashed the M logo. I had to sbf back to stock, reboot, and load a backup.

Can anyone tell me what I did wrong? I had a hard time finding a dl for cyanogenmod. Can someone provide a link to the correct version for DROID x on .602?

I have never tried Roms before, any tips would be appreciated. Also, what other roms that are free would you recommend trying (with links please)

Thanks!

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

popcenator
09-15-2011, 11:39 AM
Most likely you tried to install CM4DX based on the Froyo kernel, there is a version for Gingerbread out now. On Gingerbread, it's best to use D2 bootstrap. Flashing CM soft bricked you because it must be installed from Froyo. I'll get you the link for CM4DX GB.

Nemo aeternamn
09-15-2011, 11:40 AM
http://rootzwiki.com/showthread.php?3335-DEV_THREAD-DroidX-CM7-with-Gingerbread-Kernel
This is the right cm7 for the ginger kernel...
We have nothing to fear but running out of beer

cory46
The official beta of cyanogen can only be installed from froyo (2.3.340 system version) which is where you got in trouble

Here are the links http://download.cyanogenmod.com/?device=cdma_shadow

Holy ninja!

1Kitkatdidiwags

popcenator
Ninjad...sort of

icedice34
09-15-2011, 11:50 AM
I already bought DROID x bootstrapper. Does it make that much of a difference that I really need to buy DROID 2 bootstrapper?

popcenator
09-15-2011, 11:51 AM
D2 is an updated version of DX and is much more stable on Gingerbread, people have had issues using the DX bootstrap. If you choose to try and use it, make sure USB debugging is unchecked in settings > applications > development.

icedice34
09-15-2011, 11:53 AM