PDA

View Full Version : I need an electricians help

jwalz
09-15-2011, 10:13 AM
I took down ceiling fan to put in a light fixture... there are 3 wires coming down each containing a black white and ground ...for a total of 9 wires. Obviously the grounds go together but wut about the remaining 6 wires 3 white 3 black... ...the light fixture has 2 white and 2 black... need some help already blew the circuit 3x. Im at a loss.

my wife owns the bionic but she lets me play with it ;)

macpro88
09-15-2011, 10:34 AM
Take a picture, and maybe head to home depot or lowes, I know they got some great easy books to read on doing this sorts of things, and if you show the pic to someone in that department, they might have some help for you.

Some of the wires might be for the light of the ceiling fan and some for the fan itself, specially if you have a wall switch that controls both. I'm no electrician though.

nemosfate
09-15-2011, 10:41 AM
I took down ceiling fan to put in a light fixture... there are 3 wires coming down each containing a black white and ground ...for a total of 9 wires. Obviously the grounds go together but wut about the remaining 6 wires 3 white 3 black... ...the light fixture has 2 white and 2 black... need some help already blew the circuit 3x. Im at a loss.

Hey jwalz this should help I think
http://www.wiringhelp.com/electrical/electrical-how-to/how-to-wire-a-ceiling-fan.html

root, roms and themes oh my!

jwalz
09-15-2011, 11:37 AM
Thanks guys but I can't make it to home depot or a while and the diagram isn't the same as the wires that I have..I appreciate the help though...im thinking one is hot the other is for the switch and the other is to continue the ectricity to another light .. errs I hate electrical work. :/

DirtyDroid
09-15-2011, 11:39 AM