PDA

View Full Version : Sorry in advance...

96GT226410
09-10-2011, 06:44 PM
Complete newb with any of this here. What is wireless tethering? Rooting? How do I upgrade my stock theme? What's the best ROM to run? Is there anything else I need to know about upgrading my phone? I have been doing a lot of reading and I am overwhelmed and I figured I'd ask the pros. Thanks a lot, I know these vague questions about someone who knows nothing can be annoying...

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

Leach19m
09-10-2011, 06:51 PM
Complete newb with any of this here. What is wireless tethering? Rooting? How do I upgrade my stock theme? What's the best ROM to run? Is there anything else I need to know about upgrading my phone? I have been doing a lot of reading and I am overwhelmed and I figured I'd ask the pros. Thanks a lot, I know these vague questions about someone who knows nothing can be annoying...

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

Wireless tethering is using your droids Internet on another device, through wifi or bluetooth

Rooting grants access to all the files on your phone, allowing you to alter things previously unavailable and to run programs that require access where they wouldn't have it without rooting.

Themes are typically rom specific, but there are some "stock rooted" themes that don't require a rom

Best rom is a very personal question, the best thing to do is to try one for a while then another, then another, then another to see which you prefer.

My name is Mike, and I'm a flashaholic. But thanks to my sponsor, MIUI, I've been clean for weeks.

smalltowngirl13
09-10-2011, 07:29 PM
No need to apologize...it looks like Mike has answered your questions...