PDA

View Full Version : Where to go from here?

JimWest
08-31-2011, 02:46 PM
OK I am new to phone hacking. I have figured some things out, but I have hit a spot that I'm too unsure to proceed. So I need some guidance/advice. I will try to provide all information in this first post (so I will probably include stuff that you don't need), but I am not sure what all information is relevant to my question, so feel free to ask for anything I omit.

I got my Droid X on release day and have loved it ever since; that is until this recent update. It seems that I am not the only one who is having problems with, or just doesn't like, this newest update. So, I am trying to accomplish two things; find a way to NOT have to use this (what I think is being called) Gingerbread and to gain the capability of un-monitored wifi-tethering. The second, I have figured out. But the first is still confusing me.

Now the phone information:
System Version - 4.5.602.MB810.
Android Version - 2.3.3
Build Number - 4.5.1_57_DX5-32

Rooted using Droid 3 Easy Root script v7
Downloaded Droid 2 Bootstrap (Droid X Bootstrap didn't work for me)
Flashed WugPacked_GB_Tether_Patch_1.0 (just including this to make sure I don't miss an important step)
Backed up app data and system data with Titanium Backup
Backed up EVERYTHING with Droid 2 Boostrap

That's where I am now. With the version that I am using, I can't seem to figure out what my options are, for NOT having to keep using Gingerbread. I didn't mind the Froyo that came on the phone when I got it, so going back to that wouldn't be a bad thing, but it kind of seems like that would be a pain to SBK it and then have to re-root, and flash the wifi patch again.

So, I started looking into ROMs, but that's where I get more confused. Can I flash a ROM from the state that the phone is in now? Or do I have to SBK it back to Froyo, re-root, and then flash the ROM? Are there ROMs that would work from here? If so, can you suggest some for me to look at?