PDA

View Full Version : .596 roms on .602?



psykotikz
08-17-2011, 04:30 PM
I just updated to .602 and am wondering if the other gb roms will work on it?

macpro88
08-17-2011, 04:55 PM
Nope, if you flash a .596 you might bootloop, or end up back on system .596. wait till they update their roms for .602.

shkrmkr79
08-18-2011, 08:47 AM
installing a rom over .602 will drop you down to whatever version that the rom you are flashing is. only benefit of this would be if you wanted the new .13p radio. What I did, for instance, was SBF to froyo, installed the TBH AIO for .602 to get the updated .13p radio, then re-flashed my personal favorite rom, zombiestomped. Since zombiestomped is .595, my version dropped down back to .595, but i retained the updated radio, which I happen to find is helping reception issues I was having on the .12p radio.

Mystikalrush
08-18-2011, 11:32 PM
installing a rom over .602 will drop you down to whatever version that the rom you are flashing is. only benefit of this would be if you wanted the new .13p radio. What I did, for instance, was SBF to froyo, installed the TBH AIO for .602 to get the updated .13p radio, then re-flashed my personal favorite rom, zombiestomped. Since zombiestomped is .595, my version dropped down back to .595, but i retained the updated radio, which I happen to find is helping reception issues I was having on the .12p radio.

Very interesting i think i may do this, but did you flash a recovery or reflash the original rom? followed by cache/data wipe of course?

akeezy
08-18-2011, 11:49 PM
Awesome. I'm on zombiestomped right now so I'll have to do that

From akeezy's Galaxy

shkrmkr79
08-19-2011, 08:52 AM
Very interesting i think i may do this, but did you flash a recovery or reflash the original rom? followed by cache/data wipe of course?

more specifically, I SBF'd, rooted with z4root, D2 bootstrapped, wipe/flashed the TBH 602 AIO, booted, wipe/flashed zombiestompedROM, wipe/flashed zombiestompedDATA (fresh install). When I booted up ZS, system version was on 595 (because thats what ZS is on), but retained the .13p radio from the .602 update. I never had great luck with a nandroid, so if i have the time, I'll go with a fresh install of a rom and then restore my apps with TiBu and work through setting up all my preferences over again. I believe you can only restore data with a nandroid backup under the advanced options in clockwork. I remember doing it wrong one time and I got nothing bu FC's on every app that was installed, so I prefer to start fresh everytime I flash a rom. But, that's just a personal preference. You don't necessarily need to do that. It's quite the process if you have the time. it was worth it for me...and I have flash fever, always messing around with my X lol...but if you know what you're doing, it can actually be fairly quick.

tribals
08-19-2011, 08:57 AM
I was on MIUI then went back to liberty and radio is updated ok now.

Sbf, root, installed the 2 part .602, restored my v.9 Liberty backup....all is well.

Liberty v.9/Watermark theme/OC'd

Mystikalrush
08-19-2011, 05:48 PM
I was on MIUI then went back to liberty and radio is updated ok now.

Sbf, root, installed the 2 part .602, restored my v.9 Liberty backup....all is well.

Liberty v.9/Watermark theme/OC'd

Did you notice when installing part II it still said .596 or did i get a wrong download?

tribals
08-19-2011, 09:49 PM
Did you notice when installing part II it still said .596 or did i get a wrong download?

Hmmm....I didn't notice that? Are you having issues installing the two part. 602?

Only issue i ran into restoring my backup was my market was force closing then when I did get it running it would not download. I installed the newer app market and ran a market fix I had on my sdcard and now it works fine.

Liberty v.9/Watermark theme/OC'd

tribals
08-19-2011, 10:09 PM
Yep looks like .596 on .13 radio

21599

Liberty v.9/Watermark theme/OC'd

Jagman1951
08-21-2011, 09:26 AM
I am running .596gb with Apex2.0rc2 overclocked1.2 and I am asking for help will Apex 2.0 run on .602 gb I don't want to loose Apex by SBF back to .340 and getting the .602 update then rooting and not being able to install Apex 2.0 again anyone have an answer for me.

Poker3
08-21-2011, 10:00 AM
I can't speak for other roms,...
But I sbf'd back to froyo, installed two part update for 602. Then flashed dsx. Kept the radio and went back to 596.
Running with zero issues :-)
At first I did have some gallery and camera issues, but fix permissions took care of those problems.

I even sbf'd back to froyo again and tried shuji on a fresh install... and while in froyo, the radio was still 13p after the sbf.

Installed two part 602 again, then flashed shuji... same results...system 596 with 13p radio....and now I'm back on fully functional darkslideX! Awesome :-)

Everything appears to be working just fine. 3g connection does seem to be a lot more stable.

http://tapatalk.com/mu/61340fde-1bf8-9e53.jpg

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

tribals
08-21-2011, 10:46 AM
Poker....what theme are you running? Red River?

Liberty v.9/Watermark theme/OC'd

Poker3
08-21-2011, 12:12 PM
Poker....what theme are you running? Red River?

Liberty v.9/Watermark theme/OC'd

Correct!
DSX swimming in the Red River.
Fonts changed via Fontchanger.

tribals
08-21-2011, 12:26 PM
Thx...thought it looked like red river. Fonts look cool!

Liberty v.9/Watermark theme/OC'd

Poker3
08-21-2011, 12:36 PM
Thx...thought it looked like red river. Fonts look cool!

Liberty v.9/Watermark theme/OC'd

Thanks!
I didn't know the name of it earlier when I responded...but the font I'm using is Romance fatal serif.

DvSKiN
08-29-2011, 10:39 PM
Does this process stop the phone from asking you to update to .602? I did this with dsx as well and, didnt notice it stayed on .13p band. So I sbf'd back to froyo n reinstalled the 2part again.