PDA

View Full Version : Dumb Question

dechristimo
08-09-2011, 02:07 AM
I'm new to the world of droids and I was wondering if there was any way to root gingerbread other than sbfing and installing the pre-rooted gingerbread file?

Snow02
08-09-2011, 02:09 AM
Nope.

Xeno62277
08-09-2011, 03:06 PM
If you are running froyo (2.2.2), you can root with gingerbreak 1.2, install the recovery bootloader, and install P3's pre-rooted GB. If you are already running Gingerbread (2.3.3) then you will have to .sbf back to 2.2.2.

nemosfate
08-09-2011, 03:19 PM
It sounds more intimidating and harder than it really is

root, roms and themes oh my!

Xeno62277
08-09-2011, 03:24 PM
Agreed... if you can read and follow directions you can do this no problem.
UPDATED - [HOW-TO] SBF back to stock Froyo, Update to P3Droids Pre-Rooted GB Update - xda-developers (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1193818) <-- Read and Follow :)

dechristimo
08-10-2011, 02:22 AM
oh yeah its so easily stated and i know i can easily do it, but i just dont want to wipe my phone. (I think that was one of the steps) I know I have my contacts backed up, but ive got a lot of music, apps (not just pointless ones either like school related ones), and general info i dont want to be cleared. and i know gingerbreak doesnt wipe your phone but factory resetting does. So im assuming that theres work being done on developing a gingerbreak for gingerbread? If so, how soon do you think thatd be?

nemosfate
08-10-2011, 02:33 AM