PDA

View Full Version : 2nd-INIT roms



B1GD
08-04-2011, 12:54 AM
Question: Which roms require 2nd-INIT? And why, when I'm in ROM manager do some roms not show once the 2nd​-INIT is flashed?
ex. Why, when on liquid, wich i thought was CM7 based, can i flash without using 2nd-INIT and then receive updates without it as well?
I think I must be missing something.

spodoc
08-04-2011, 01:00 AM
I don't use rom manager, but cm, minu, liquid, omfgb, justice, ssx come to mind as 2nd init roms

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

spodoc
08-04-2011, 01:02 AM
And you don't use 2nd init yourself... the rom does that for you when you flash the zip and repeats the exploit each time the phone is booted. You just provide froyo as the starting point.

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

B1GD
08-04-2011, 01:07 AM
ok that makes sense.

spodoc
08-04-2011, 01:12 AM
Just make sure to use power button to boot into recovery not dxbootstrap. Use rom manager for recovery on miui. From clowkwork you can flash any other. 2 nd init or froyo rom
Also can restore namdroid of those.

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

B1GD
08-04-2011, 01:23 AM
what about in liquid? im on it right now. is rom manager the best way to go for cwr?

fezrock
08-04-2011, 03:04 AM
what about in liquid? im on it right now. is rom manager the best way to go for cwr?

Long press power. Select reboot. Select recovery. Viola!

B1GD
08-04-2011, 03:41 AM
weird. im on 2.5. if i select reboot, it just does a normal reboot. no other option. another problem i have is that i get "error" when i turn on my wifi. any solution to that?

silver04v
08-04-2011, 06:32 AM
weird. im on 2.5. if i select reboot, it just does a normal reboot. no other option. another problem i have is that i get "error" when i turn on my wifi. any solution to that?

Ya, flash 2.4 cause 2.5 is buggy as hell on the x.

Dripping awesome out of my liquid Dx. Just flying along.

silver04v
08-04-2011, 06:33 AM
Use rom manager to boot into recovery to flash it

Dripping awesome out of my liquid Dx. Just flying along.

B1GD
08-04-2011, 12:13 PM
can i flash 2.4 right over 2.5? or do i need to wipe data/cache/dalvic?

B1GD
08-04-2011, 12:37 PM
do i need to wipe data/cache before i flash 2.4 or should i just flash right over.
*edit* sorry for the double post.