PDA

View Full Version : Failed Install of Official GB

MightyP
07-06-2011, 12:42 AM
Let me start off by saying I'm a NOOB. And though I have little knowledge, I am willing and eager to learn. I've read through the forums, though I haven't read every page of each topic, and run numerous searches, but didn't find an answer. If I missed something obvious, I apologize.

That said I have Froyo .340 (rooted), installed Droid 2 Bootstrap and put both zip files on my SD card per the instructions here (http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/gingerbread-help/26668-guide-froyo-gingerbread.html). When I go into bootstrap and run the file, I get through the introduction "TEAM BLACK HAT" etc. It says:

Installing Part I of II

Verifying current system...
assert failed: apply_patch_check("/system/app/BlurSNMessagingEngine.apk",

and goes on from there with lots of letters and numbers and then

E:Error in /sdcard/downloads/Blur_Version

and so forth before saying

Installation aborted.

I tried 3 times, tried installing Part II first (that was a disaster, but thankfully I can follow instructions and was able to flash an sbf file and recover my phone), tried downloading Part I from a different mirror site and running that one and nothing works.

Help? :confused:

Droid-Xer
07-06-2011, 03:26 AM
You're getting corrupt downloads probably. I would download to a PC and then transfer the zipped files to your phones SD.

dschwartz0815
07-06-2011, 08:43 PM
Doesn't that fail mean he was rooted and had bloat removed or it needs that file to continue...?
I would SBF to stock and try again....that way its EXACTLY how it was out of the box....then root with z4root and get bootstrapper and flash away

MightyP
07-06-2011, 09:13 PM
I downloaded the files to my pc and dropped them on my SD card from there. I do have bloatware removed, so I'll try going back to stock with root and give it a try.

I'm away from my computer for about a week now, but I'll try it when I get home.

Thanks foe the help!