PDA

View Full Version : Okay this is what i'm running...*PIC*...What rom can I install?



Apocalypse
06-09-2011, 02:46 AM
Honestly, I would like to just go by the stickies in the forum and figure it out. The problem is some of these threads are just annoying me. Do I really have to flash my phone to froyo to get to Liberty GB???


18985

Leach19m
06-09-2011, 03:56 AM
No, you don't have to. Search 596 release, look for the thread about the official release, something for everyone. In the first post are instructions and links to download files to get you to the newest GB.

And to get to liberty GB, you need to have the donate toolbox. But you have to already be on gingerbread to flash it, doesn't matter which version as it will update you to 596 when you flash the newest release for Liberty GB

So, the answer to your question is no. You do not have to go back to froyo to Liberty GB, just buy the donate version of the liberty toolbox.

Sent from my Droid X, which Netflix thinks is an HTC Vision!

Snow02
06-09-2011, 04:13 AM
Actually, he's on .573. He should go back to froyo first.

fc127
06-09-2011, 04:58 AM
Actually, he's on .573. He should go back to froyo first.

Agreed. He needs the new baseband. Sbf, then flash the 2 part to .596.

Stomped from my DX

Strychnine
06-09-2011, 09:57 AM
The easiest (and I would say best) way to go about it will be SBF'ing back to Froyo, upgrading directly to .596 from there, and then proceeding to Liberty or ApeX. My reasoning for thinking that is simple: it eliminates a potential source of conflict as you're flashing multiple things AND coming from the first leak of Gingerbread. Having tried all of the Gingerbread leaks, and every version of Liberty and ApeX that was built for them, SBF'ing became almost a reflex action.

ryant35
06-09-2011, 10:22 AM
He has to SBF back to Froyo first simply because there is no root for stock GB (As far as I have read...) So you can't use the Liberty Toolbox or Droid X Bootstrap to install the zip files.

fnmetal
06-09-2011, 10:38 AM
Gingerbreak will root. 573
Its the radio that's the issue, it specifically states in p3s post if you don't have 12p radio you have to sbf to froyo.
Plus you can get on liberty 0.6 without the donate tb.. just to try it out. If you like it, donate to get latest 0.7

Strychnine
06-09-2011, 12:15 PM
.573 had a pre-rooted .zip to flash it, and Gingerbreak worked on the un-rooted one.

olyfunk
06-09-2011, 12:36 PM
FYI - My phone baseband is the one that ends .07 & ive used liberty up to v .7. I'm now on Apex and still having no issues. Maybe my phone is "magic" but I doubt it. Lol.

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

Apocalypse
06-09-2011, 01:37 PM
So it seems like I have to go back to group then to .596 I appreciate the help everyone.

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

fnmetal
06-09-2011, 01:44 PM
Love how gbs text prediction changes froyo to "group" :p I must have edited posts a dozen times because of that :)

yurdle
06-09-2011, 01:51 PM
I noticed that too lol.. saw group and I was like huh? then i remembered mine auto-corrected froyo to group yesterday

92sho16
06-10-2011, 09:14 PM
If on .573 i think you can update to the leak that had the radio update then update to .596(lastest/official) then rom from there.

Apocalypse
06-10-2011, 09:30 PM
The version i'm running is rooted as well. Not sure if that makes a difference

fnmetal
06-10-2011, 10:19 PM
The version i'm running is rooted as well. Not sure if that makes a differenceHonestly imho, I would just sbf to froyo .. just get z4root.apk and d2 bootstrap on your sd card, root, bootstrap, wipe data/cache/dalvik and install the 2 zips from tbh ..But if you want to try and avoid sbf, or data wipe.You can try to install the .591 patch over your .573 then install the .596 patch over that. But if you've modified your current system at all (roms / themes) I'd expect you'll have problems.. if you are on .573 stock only rooted, you can try to install the patches through cwm.Or you can go completely rogue and just flash the tbh patch for people on a previous gb leak > .596 your choice :)
P3s thread for. 591 - http://www.mydroidworld.com/forums/droid-x-discussion/7285-gingerbread-dx-blur-4-5-591-odexed-deodexed-apps-download.html

Apocalypse
06-10-2011, 10:53 PM
Honestly imho, I would just sbf to froyo .. just get z4root.apk and d2 bootstrap on your sd card, root, bootstrap, wipe data/cache/dalvik and install the 2 zips from tbh ..But if you want to try and avoid sbf, or data wipe.You can try to install the .591 patch over your .573 then install the .596 patch over that. But if you've modified your current system at all (roms / themes) I'd expect you'll have problems.. if you are on .573 stock only rooted, you can try to install the patches through cwm.Or you can go completely rogue and just flash the tbh patch for people on a previous gb leak > .596 your choice :)
P3s thread for. 591 - GingerBread DX (Blur 4.5.591) odexed, deodexed apps download (http://www.mydroidworld.com/forums/droid-x-discussion/7285-gingerbread-dx-blur-4-5-591-odexed-deodexed-apps-download.html)

Thanks broskies!

Apocalypse
06-11-2011, 12:21 AM
Okay so check this crap out!!!

I download the two part file to go to .596 from TBH directly to the phone. I sbf back to froyo using the .iso that runs linux and restores the phone back. I ran z4root and then booted up in recovery mode with Droid 2 bootstrapper. I install Part 1, but as it gets to NV80,... something I don't remember the numbers. It stops and says installation aborted. Whyyyyyyyy?

ryant35
06-11-2011, 12:22 AM
Okay so check this crap out!!!

I download the two part file to go to .596 from TBH directly to the phone. I sbf back to froyo using the .iso that runs linux and restores the phone back. I ran z4root and then booted up in recovery mode with Droid 2 bootstrapper. I install Part 1, but as it gets to NV80,... something I don't remember the numbers. It stops and says installation aborted. Whyyyyyyyy?

Possibly a bad zip file download... try downloading again.

Apocalypse
06-11-2011, 12:27 AM
thats the thing. I've been trying to install GB for the past few weeks and every where I've been dl'ing this it keeps aborting. I've downloaded the files on pc then transferred them and now I downloaded them directly to the phone and this keeps happening.

ryant35
06-11-2011, 12:40 AM
Maybe try a different copy of GB from a different developer.