PDA

View Full Version : Contacts Crashing on Gingerbread?



ryant35
03-31-2011, 05:30 PM
I installed the prerooted GB and when tap my contact icon on my home screen, or go to contacts in the app drawer and select a contact it pops up then goes back to the home screen right away.

I cleared data and forced stop and it still does it. I also pulled the battery this morning after a media player locked up and contacts still crashes.

Anyone else having this problem?

noXcuse
03-31-2011, 05:47 PM
Unfreeze the yahoo stuff.

Sent from Gingerbread

ryant35
03-31-2011, 06:08 PM
A ha! Thank you sir!

zoe
03-31-2011, 06:09 PM
there are two yahoo apk's, don't touch the first but you can freeze or rename the 2nd further down in the list. renaming worked fine for me

noXcuse
03-31-2011, 06:22 PM
A ha! Thank you sir!

Lol. 10dash4 good buddy.

Sent from Gingerbread

mdowns989
03-31-2011, 11:10 PM
Any idea why when I change this to .bak it breaks my Contacts and when I select a contact goes straight to homescreen?

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

mdowns989
03-31-2011, 11:12 PM
I had the same.thing happen... just figured it out before reading this... why does yahoo have anything to do with contacts?

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums

mopar-x
03-31-2011, 11:12 PM
Yea don't do that ... not sure why.

sent from mopar-x from inside his gingerbread house

psychotic_penguin
03-31-2011, 11:13 PM
Did the same for me, I'm thinking because with the Blur contacts that Yahoo.apk is embedded to the contacts

psychotic_penguin
03-31-2011, 11:15 PM
Merged with similar thread

gunner1982
03-31-2011, 11:16 PM
Yea that's like the other crap I noticed in root explorer and why the heck is last.fm in there its not even an app in my app drawer does moto not get the point that we don't want this junk on our phones they need to realize all they are doing is dragging their on devices down

Sent from my ROOTED OC'D GINGERBREAD X

goblueboy
04-01-2011, 10:52 PM
thanks this thread helped a lot

TideFan22
04-01-2011, 11:45 PM
Corporate sync authenticator will cause the to fc also. Just learned that

Kornshukka

Divey1130
04-02-2011, 01:55 AM
Corporate sync authenticator will cause the to fc also. Just learned that

Kornshukka
Yup, I un-froze it and all works fine now. I have not had an issue with the yahoo stuff either.

tde
04-05-2011, 07:53 AM
If anyone could either send me or direct me to a place where I can DL the first yahoo file as I stupidly deleted it, thinking it wasn't important I'd greatly appreciate it, thanks! "com.motorola.blur.contacts.sync.yahoo"

Divey1130
04-05-2011, 08:03 AM
I think you can go to the appear store and download the yahoo app again.
-Terry

Edit-just saw your edit. I see, you need the system file

tde
04-05-2011, 08:22 AM
I think you can go to the appear store and download the yahoo app again.
-Terry

Edit-just saw your edit. I see, you need the system file

Yes, I did DL yahoo from the app market...did nothing.

ryant35
04-05-2011, 08:53 AM
If anyone could either send me or direct me to a place where I can DL the first yahoo file as I stupidly deleted it, thinking it wasn't important I'd greatly appreciate it, thanks! "com.motorola.blur.contacts.sync.yahoo"

Here are all the yahoo files in the root system folder I had on my phone, I guess just replace any that are missing.

If this doesn't work you might have to reflash GB or restore a clockwork backup of GB.

tde
04-05-2011, 11:48 AM
Thanks for taking the time to find these for me! I'll let you know how it goes when I get a chance.

TideFan22
04-05-2011, 04:38 PM
You should be able to factory reset and it will be back wont it? If that don't work

Kornshukka

ryant35
04-05-2011, 04:41 PM
You should be able to factory reset and it will be back wont it? If that don't work

Kornshukka
No factory reset will not replace files in the root folder, that we are not supposed to be messing with.

TideFan22
04-05-2011, 05:12 PM
Ok good to know

Kornshukka

Miles
04-05-2011, 09:27 PM
On a similar note. Has anyone had trouble with the LPP People App not functioning properly with Gingerbread?

ryant35
04-05-2011, 09:32 PM
On a similar note. Has anyone had trouble with the LPP People App not functioning properly with Gingerbread?

Nope runs perfectly for me. There has been some discussion on here about it not running well.

TideFan22
04-05-2011, 11:24 PM
Only problem I had was when I tried to change a dock icon and it would force close, but I had frozen chooser2.3.3 now everything runs fine except on a occasion after a reboot lpp will freeze up and after hitting force close when it pops up then its all good

Kornshukka