PDA

View Full Version : Removing the bloat from Gingerbread (2.3.3)



Ryan M
03-29-2011, 08:52 PM
Hello All
I have been trying like crazy to remove all the bloat that I don't need from the Gingerbread leak and I have Most of it gone just like in 2.2 or 2.2.1 however I cannot for the life of me find the 3g mobile hotspot apk in system/app to remove it. anyone know its name/location thanks!

1KDS
03-29-2011, 08:55 PM
should be called mynet.apk

gunner1982
03-29-2011, 08:56 PM
Hello All
I have been trying like crazy to remove all the bloat that I don't need from the Gingerbread leak and I have Most of it gone just like in 2.2 or 2.2.1 however I cannot for the life of me find the 3g mobile hotspot apk in system/app to remove it. anyone know its name/location thanks!


I have the exact same problem I've looked through root explorer and see no mynet.apk



Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forum App

Ryan M
03-29-2011, 09:01 PM
Exactly I can't even find it in manage app's

1KDS
03-29-2011, 09:09 PM
anyone look in /preinstall/app?

Ryan M
03-29-2011, 09:16 PM
all that is in preinstall/app is flash, hornbill (whatever that is) , vzw installer and NFS shift

1KDS
03-29-2011, 09:18 PM
and I assume you've checked /data/app, right?

Ryan M
03-29-2011, 09:22 PM
yeah I wouldn't ask if I didn't lol. yeah im dumbfounded as to where the heck it is

1KDS
03-29-2011, 09:24 PM
hmmm I don't know where else it could hide. I'll be on gb tomorrow and can take a look around if no one finds it by then.

C Dippa
03-29-2011, 09:28 PM
Running a search in root explorer right now for "mynet", but it's taking forever to look through every single file. Will report back if I find it (it's got to be somewhere).

Edit: Nope, no results for mynet in root explorer

Droid-Xer
03-29-2011, 09:32 PM
Nope its not in system, data, and its not mynet.apk. Not in preinstall. Weird

Ryan M
03-29-2011, 09:33 PM
hmmm... i tried to ask P3 on twitter but i doubt he will have time to reply

jscharf10
03-29-2011, 09:38 PM
TBH: Droid 3G Hotspot NVRAM Hack (http://www.mydroidworld.com/forums/android-hacks/5156-tbh-droid-3g-hotspot-nvram-hack.html)

ps. I am on 2.3.3 leak rooted and it is working just fine

Ryan M
03-29-2011, 09:40 PM
its already working for free as of rite now but i don't ever really teather, does that patch even work for GB?

TideFan22
03-29-2011, 10:00 PM
Alot of people are asking the same thing they can't find it either

KornShukka

Snow02
03-29-2011, 10:01 PM
It flashes the radio, so the rom doesn't matter.

Ryan M
03-29-2011, 10:10 PM
It flashes the radio, so the rom doesn't matter. good cause (this may sound stupid) but im pretty sure it is built into settings apk

Snow02
03-29-2011, 10:16 PM
@tidefan
Yeah, I couldn't find an apk that seems to hold it. I'm going to decompile some of the likely ones and track it down. That's kind of suspect.

TideFan22
03-29-2011, 10:20 PM
That's weird its not there lol. The boot animation is in system/media on here where I was mostly in data/local and I thought data/local overwrites system/media wonder why it changed?

KornShukka

Snow02
03-29-2011, 10:34 PM
The boot animation was in system media on .340 too. I believe that was different for some custom roms.

TideFan22
03-29-2011, 10:39 PM
Ok that was it then cause I was hardly on stock, I surely never put a boot animation on it, guess I was so used to it being there in roms

KornShukka

Ryan M
03-29-2011, 10:55 PM
Update: According to everyone I have discussed this with 3g hotspot is now built into the system and as of rite now cannot be removed.

Snow02
03-29-2011, 11:23 PM
Update: According to everyone I have discussed this with 3g hotspot is now built into the system and as of rite now cannot be removed.

Yep, that's what I was about to say. It's not an app. Which is fine, I don't necessarily want to remove it. What I worry about is potential monitoring of it's use, like was built into the fascinate froyo leak.

Ryan M
03-30-2011, 03:47 AM
You an me both

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forum App

drewlamo1
03-30-2011, 11:43 AM
i concur that response because when i activate the tethering app, the mobile hotspot app activates as well.

this doesnt seem like a good thing lmfao and them monitoring seems more plausible.

i believe the tbh nvram hack however reconfigures the data so vzw cant tell that data is being sent to other devices. It looks like the same data to them.
could be wrong on this, but i did do the hack and i can tether with no problems.

so hopefully they cant tell the difference with the hack in place

edit: while the hack does work go through with no errors, i heard on other threads that hotspot is free till a certain date. If this true im not sure if ill know the hack worked until they stop giving it for free.
( not %100 on any of this info, hopefully someone can come along and clear anything up for us )

fersayken2
03-30-2011, 11:48 AM
Can the hack be applied after installing gbroot?

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forum App

fersayken2
03-30-2011, 11:49 AM
Is may 15 the dealine for free hotspot?

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forum App

Snow02
03-30-2011, 12:15 PM
Yes, the tbh hack changes the NAI string so data appears to the network to not be tethered. However, building tethering into the system could allow tethering use to be monitored regardless.

As I said, the leaked fascinate froyo had a similar implementation. They were able to patch that, however. I am confident that should this be an issue, a fix will be found.

But for now, as always, if you are not subscribed to the tethering service you cannot be charged for it (how many times has that question been asked...), regardless of whether you use it.

jackelbait
03-30-2011, 05:03 PM
I used my old root wireles teather and soon as I connected to the Web VZW page came up asking me to subscribe to there service....

How do I install the tbh nvram hack , I just downloaded it Via TBH app

1KDS
03-30-2011, 05:16 PM
you flash it in clockwork

jackelbait
03-30-2011, 05:25 PM
thanks

bubba82
03-30-2011, 06:34 PM
How would I go about getting the skype and blockbuster and all that other crap off the GB? New to this whole root thing but learning as I go :)

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forum App

mikeinrichmond
03-30-2011, 06:36 PM
Use can use Titanium Backup Pro to freeze them, then they won't show in the app drawer, but you can easily unfreeze them if you want to take the official OTA update in a few weeks...

jackelbait
03-30-2011, 07:45 PM
I used the Pre Rooted GB and I dont SEE any Bloatware.... Not sure if they hid it or deleted it but its not there for me

Then again Im using Launcher Pro and They just may be hiding...

noXcuse
03-30-2011, 07:46 PM
I used the Pre Rooted GB and I dont SEE any Bloatware.... Not sure if they hid it or deleted it but its not there for me

Then again Im using Launcher Pro and They just may be hiding...
Oh, it's definitely there. Lots of it too.

jackelbait
03-30-2011, 07:47 PM
Just checked....They are hidden with Launcher Pro

psychotic_penguin
03-30-2011, 07:48 PM
Trust me it's there, open up Titanium Backup and have a look. We all have the same build whether it be odexed or deodexed it's the only one out atm.

C Dippa
03-30-2011, 07:51 PM
Oh, it's definitely there. Lots of it too.

Lol...I couldn't believe it when I looked in system/app before it was deodexed. I was scrolling down and was like "Oh man, when is it going to stop?".

olyfunk
03-30-2011, 10:44 PM
Maybe I've ben looking at my screen too long. Wasn't there a list at the beginning of this thread of apps to freeze?

zoe
03-30-2011, 10:58 PM
I know I saw a thread/list somewhere as well, problem is that I constantly jump between forums and can never remember where I'm at any given time. The damn tapatalk apps all look the same to me when I'm inside them.

3000gt mr
03-31-2011, 08:30 AM
Ok good I'm not tripping then.what about dlna? I froze the two I saw in titanium but can't find the rest of it. its still running in the foreround. I thought there was a .com.motorola.dlna. But I can't find it either

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

noXcuse
03-31-2011, 08:50 AM
Myself and someone else replied to a different thread on here, and listed the apps we froze. That thread kinda died. Not sure why. Maybe the title wasn't as catchy as this one. I'll see if I can find it.

Sent from Gingerbread

EDIT: Here's my post from the other thread.


Here's a list of what I've froze so far. Feel free to edit your OP, and put my list in there. Just edit the OP whenever someone tells you something different that you can freeze.

Amazon Kindle
Amazom MP3
Android Live Wallpaper
Blockbuster
Books
City ID
DLNA
DLNA System Service
Email
Email Authenticator
Filckr Authenticator
FM Radio
FM Radio Service
LastFM Authenticator
Live Wallpaper Picker
Magic Smoke Wallpapers
Media Share
Messages
Messaging
Music Visualitation Wallpapers
MySpace Authenticator
News
News & Weather
Orkut Authenticator
Picasa Authenticator
Setup Wizard
Skype Mobile
Social Networking
Sticky Note
Swype
Twitter Authenticator
Video Editor Lite
VZ Navigator
Weather
Work Contacts



Sent from Gingerbread

AdamTomaino
03-31-2011, 08:56 AM
Can someone please post a list of bloatware that is unnecessary? I don't want to rename something I shouldn't

AdamTomaino
03-31-2011, 08:57 AM
Can someone please post a list of bloatware that is unnecessary? I don't want to rename something I shouldn't
NVM as I typed you did (above)

noXcuse
03-31-2011, 09:06 AM
Just don't freeze the yahoo stuff. It'll crash your phone contacts list.

Sent from Gingerbread

olyfunk
03-31-2011, 09:18 AM
[QUOTE=noXcuse;255196]Just don't freeze the yahoo stuff. It'll crash your phone contacts list.


Lol... Found this out the hard way.

Thanks for adding your list!

jackelbait
03-31-2011, 02:53 PM
I actually use the Kindle App lol

But the Rest I just have hidden with Launcher Pro so I dont have to see it...

zoe
03-31-2011, 03:33 PM
hiding is good, but a lot's still going to be running. best to freeze or rename if you want better performance

CaucasianAsian
04-04-2011, 01:37 AM
Just don't freeze the yahoo stuff. It'll crash your phone contacts list.

Sent from Gingerbread

Wow. I'm very glad I ran across this post. haha I was one click away from freezing it.

goldsmitht
04-04-2011, 12:16 PM
Just don't freeze the yahoo stuff. It'll crash your phone contacts list.

Sent from Gingerbread

what if i use Google for my contacts, will freezing Yahoo still crash my contacts?

mistertwisted
05-29-2011, 10:51 PM
I got a way to "remove" the 3g hotspot app. If you use LauncherPro as your default launcher you can hide it. By going into LP's preferences>general>hidden apps>3g mobile hotspot. I know it doesn't REMOVE or FREEZE it but it's harmless right? So why not just hide it so that you won't get grossed out and vomit at the sight of this semi bloat ware.

Happy hidding.

IFeelYourPain
08-12-2011, 04:40 AM
How do I remove the 3G Hotspot? I don't see the mynet in /apps? Also can I remove the verizon backup?

Also: I know that there is a patch out there for the 3G Hotspot, but what does it do, since I could already use the 3G hotspot before I even saw the patch?

I thought you couldn't use the 3G Hotspot unless you were being billed for tethering?

Snow02
08-12-2011, 05:05 AM
How do I remove the 3G Hotspot?

You can't. It's built in to the settings app.

IFeelYourPain
08-12-2011, 04:34 PM
What about the verizon backup?

OP you may want to update your post, you said you could remove mynet.apk and it would get rid of the 3G, but as Snow02 stated its not possible to do this.