PDA

View Full Version : Ready to do it!



tycoon177
03-20-2011, 10:03 PM
Since I just got my phone rooted today I think im ready to rom! But first I have a couple of questions. Can I use rom manager instead of droidx bootstrapper? It's I have to use bootstrapper? If I need to use bootstrapper can I get the link to his site so I can download it thanks guys and also any rom recommendations? I know of apex rubix and liberty so what do I do?

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

Dustin0308
03-20-2011, 10:05 PM
Do not use rom manager..it causes problems with the x..go to the market and search droid x bootstrapper from clockworkmod
Here's a link
https://market.android.com/details?id=com.koushikdutta.droidx.bootstrap&feature=search_result

Make a backup first then flash a rom
http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/droid-x-hacking-guides/13522-first-step-post-root-creating-restoring-backups-complete-guide.html

And liberty is quick..apex is probably the best for battery life

LiBeRtY ONEPOINTFIVE

mopar-x
03-20-2011, 10:06 PM
Bootstrap is all you can use on the x at this time it is in the market just search "droidxbootstrap ".

swalker
03-20-2011, 10:06 PM
Get bootstrapper first and foremost...you wont be sorry

Amazing X

tycoon177
03-20-2011, 10:10 PM
Doesn't the creator of the app have a site with the apk?

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

Dustin0308
03-20-2011, 10:13 PM
It may not be free anymore..check my first link
Doesn't the creator of the app have a site with the apk?

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk



LiBeRtY ONEPOINTFIVE

Smittys
03-20-2011, 10:42 PM
Unfortunately, Bootstrap is no longer free to download.

jesscepticon
03-20-2011, 11:14 PM
I just got bootstrap today. Its 2.00 but its essential. It quickly and easily backed up my newly rooted x thanks to the guys who helped me.

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forum App

tycoon177
03-21-2011, 06:15 AM
I have a few more questions (surprise surprise) anyway when I first boot into a new rom, do I need to activate my phone or is it already activated. I ask because when I would flash new roms on my droid eris I automatically had service and everything. And then my last question is, do the roms with uncapped data still work? I want to try those out since I don't get the best service. Oh, and what roms have uncapped data.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

Dustin0308
03-21-2011, 06:32 AM
You don't have to dial *228..but its a good idea to re set up your google account by touching the little green android that pops up. Yes they still work, by uncapped data I'm guessing you mean unthrottled data (our data is already uncapped because its unlimited).the no throttle hacks keep verizon from throttling your speeds when you go over 5gb. I believe they all have the hack..you just have to flash it in clockwork (although I believe apex has it built in, not positive tho)

I have a few more questions (surprise surprise) anyway when I first boot into a new rom, do I need to activate my phone or is it already activated. I ask because when I would flash new roms on my droid eris I automatically had service and everything. And then my last question is, do the roms with uncapped data still work? I want to try those out since I don't get the best service. Oh, and what roms have uncapped data.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk



LiBeRtY ONEPOINTFIVE

tycoon177
03-21-2011, 06:45 AM
You don't have to dial *228..but its a good idea to re set up your google account by touching the little green android that pops up. Yes they still work, by uncapped data I'm guessing you mean unthrottled data (our data is already uncapped because its unlimited).the no throttle hacks keep verizon from throttling your speeds when you go over 5gb. I believe they all have the hack..you just have to flash it in clockwork (although I believe apex has it built in, not positive tho)




LiBeRtY ONEPOINTFIVE

Sorry for SO many questions...so that means the only activation is my google account, but my phone service is still set up?

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

Dustin0308
03-21-2011, 06:48 AM
Yes..you can still dial *228 if you want..it won't hurt..I have done it. Lol

LiBeRtY ONEPOINTFIVE

tycoon177
03-21-2011, 07:43 AM
Looks like im flashing thethe unthrottled apex tonight

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

kirbnite
03-21-2011, 09:08 AM
Yes, a custom ROM will leave your phone activated.

As far as the throttling goes. Answer is in 2 parts.

1. The throttling patch, does not give you faster speeds. It supposedly will prevent you from getting throttled to slower speeds if your one of the users in the top 5% of data consumption. And I would find it difficult to believe that the device is what controls that.

2. Theoretical max download speeds for EVDO REV-0 is 2.4 mbps with Max upload of 256 kbps and and EVDO REV-A is 3.2 mbps Download and 1 mbps Upload. As a user we will not see these speeds. We see an average of 400-700 kbps REV-0, and 700 kbps - 1.8 mbps on REV-A

What ROMS have that patch built in, I am unable to answer.

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forum App

Dustin0308
03-21-2011, 10:47 AM
Most of them you have to flash in manually.
Yes, a custom ROM will leave your phone activated.

As far as the throttling goes. Answer is in 2 parts.

1. The throttling patch, does not give you faster speeds. It supposedly will prevent you from getting throttled to slower speeds if your one of the users in the top 5% of data consumption. And I would find it difficult to believe that the device is what controls that.

2. Theoretical max download speeds for EVDO REV-0 is 2.4 mbps with Max upload of 256 kbps and and EVDO REV-A is 3.2 mbps Download and 1 mbps Upload. As a user we will not see these speeds. We see an average of 400-700 kbps REV-0, and 700 kbps - 1.8 mbps on REV-A

What ROMS have that patch built in, I am unable to answer.

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forum App



LiBeRtY ONEPOINTFIVE

tycoon177
03-21-2011, 06:27 PM
Well I can't find many roms I really want to be my first flash what are some of your favorite roms

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

mikeinrichmond
03-21-2011, 06:30 PM
Well I can't find many roms I really want to be my first flash what are some of your favorite roms


Here's a great review for you:

http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/droid-x-roms/16532-rom-review.html#post170544

tycoon177
03-21-2011, 07:03 PM
Here's a great review for you:

http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/droid-x-roms/16532-rom-review.html#post170544

I have one more request. Can I get a link to the latest apex and install instructions (mount system or not) and the rest of the instructions. I would greatly appriciate it

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

mikeinrichmond
03-21-2011, 07:06 PM
It's in the Rom's subforum, and here's the link to the thread:

http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/droid-x-roms/18913-rom-apex-v1-4-0-droid-x-droid-2-refinement-ease-use-2-14-2011-a.html#post205111

fezrock
03-21-2011, 07:11 PM
Well I can't find many roms I really want to be my first flash what are some of your favorite roms

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

Just try one. It doesn't matter. Then when you get your ROM footing you can try another! And another! Enjoy!

Sent from Liberty 1.5 and lovin' it

tycoon177
03-21-2011, 07:41 PM
Do I mount system to install or just flash after completing other steps like wiping data

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

mikeinrichmond
03-21-2011, 07:56 PM
See the original post in the thread I linked to for the developers specific directions...



(Swyped on the go..)

tycoon177
03-21-2011, 08:00 PM
See the original post in the thread I linked to for the developers specific directions...



(Swyped on the go..)

Basically if it doesn't mention mounting it I don't? Sorry about SO many questions

Sent from my rooted droid x

mikeinrichmond
03-21-2011, 08:07 PM
Correct. Mounting the system is usually reserved for Themes, not Rom's...

tycoon177
03-21-2011, 09:41 PM
I am officially running apex 1.4.1 and it is great! I love everything about it and it was SO easy as long as i followed Roolers guide. My only problem has been one reboot but i think its because i replaced the keyboard in the toolkit and i think that needed a restart. is that why? Also, is there a way for me to remove the startup sound? otherwise love rooting, romming and everything!

closer
03-21-2011, 09:49 PM
Yeah its in the apex toolbox. There's a post about it, I believe its in the apex thread. Though if you go through the toolbox you'll find it. If you like apex wait until you try the other roms.
I would suggest Rubix focused next.

tycoon177
03-21-2011, 10:01 PM
I didnt see the startup sounds :( any ideas?

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

closer
03-21-2011, 10:16 PM
You disable the THX boot sound by using the
1) Terminal Emulator
2) su
3) apextoolbox
4) Option 4
5) Option 4
6) Option 2
copied from android forums, it should work.

tycoon177
03-21-2011, 10:21 PM
You disable the THX boot sound by using the
1) Terminal Emulator
2) su
3) apextoolbox
4) Option 4
5) Option 4
6) Option 2
copied from android forums, it should work.

Didn't work :(

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

closer
03-21-2011, 10:32 PM
1.4.1 boot sound.... - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum (http://www.droidforums.net/forum/fabolous-x/127381-1-4-1-boot-sound.html)
This is where I got the info to turn off the thx boot sound. I don't have exact instructions because I don't have apex installed right now.

tycoon177
03-21-2011, 10:40 PM
Thank you! It got annoying the second time lol you rock!

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

tycoon177
03-22-2011, 03:46 PM
Is there a way to prevent clockwork from starting every boot?

sent from my rooted droid x running apex 1.4.1