PDA

View Full Version : Laughing Apple Boot Animation



Gorgarath
02-26-2011, 07:42 PM
Here's a boot animation that will help you poke fun at all your iPhone using friends. Video available in post 7 (http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/droid-x-hacks/19921-laughing-apple-boot-animation.html#post221687)

applelaugh-bootanimation-cw.zip (http://www.mediafire.com/?lva128pjclp78xr) - Flashable using clockwork recovery.

MD5: C53826B5BA60C91EFB6B549FE4BFFED9
SHA-1: 415FB14A2EC3EA1FC4F7883D1CA920B825951E2F

applelaugh-bootanimation.zip (http://www.mediafire.com/?e20v5gkd87o8ic8) - Instructions below.

MD5: E7A4811930C71F866B21414B383F01F5
SHA-1: A01BB0A4CF158E4DB603A0BF938532634AC32F5B

AppleLaugh.mp3 (http://www.mediafire.com/?qcx7fyicbihckbi) - Instructions below.

The first file is the easiest to install as it is able to be flashed via Clockwork recovery. Simply save it to the SD card and flash with CW like any ROM/theme. No wipe needed.

The second and 3rd files can be installed by hand by downloading the applelaugh-bootanimation.zip and saving it to /data/local. If you have a bootanimation.zip file there already, either rename it or delete it and rename applelaugh-bootanimation.zip to bootanimation.zip. This will give you the boot animation.

If you want the included sound, download AppleLaugh.mp3 and save it in /system/media.

If you decide you don't like the sound, you can remove the .mp3 file and the boot animation will work without it.


Boot animation was supplied by: joehempel
Audio file was supplied by: joehempel


For those who aren't running a ROM that plays boot sounds and want boot sounds, check out this link: Enabling boot sounds. (http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/droid-x-hacks/21981-enabling-boot-sounds.html)

Dvan
02-26-2011, 07:51 PM
Awesome! Thanks love it

1.23ghz/Apex 1.4

psychotic_penguin
02-26-2011, 07:55 PM
How about some screenshots if you can?

Gorgarath
02-26-2011, 08:03 PM
How about some screenshots if you can?
Only camera I have currently is my X. And can't really take any screenshots of the phone while it's booting with it...

Give me a few and I'll see if I can put the images into a .gif and upload that. You won't get the sound that goes with it, but you'll be able to see the animation at least. (Would take no time at all if I still had the installer for Jasc PSP, but I lost the disk and the files when I had a hard drive mess up.)

Gorgarath
02-26-2011, 08:04 PM
Awesome! Thanks love it

1.23ghz/Apex 1.4
Thanks! Glad you like it. :)

Dvan
02-26-2011, 08:11 PM
http://i888.photobucket.com/albums/ac85/dvan2010/17.png
http://i888.photobucket.com/albums/ac85/dvan2010/13.png

http://i888.photobucket.com/albums/ac85/dvan2010/25.png

http://i888.photobucket.com/albums/ac85/dvan2010/19.png

http://i888.photobucket.com/albums/ac85/dvan2010/10.png

http://i888.photobucket.com/albums/ac85/dvan2010/44.png

http://i888.photobucket.com/albums/ac85/dvan2010/37.png

http://i888.photobucket.com/albums/ac85/dvan2010/51.png
1.23ghz/Apex 1.4

mikeinrichmond
02-26-2011, 08:11 PM
Here ya go PP: I didn't load the mp3, but it sounded like something burning than a giggle..The Android just keeps spinning so I cut it off before fully booting..

Thanks for sharing, Gorgarath..


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kq2w0GPcUXA

Dvan
02-26-2011, 08:12 PM
Here ya go PP: I didn't load the mp3, but it sounded like something burning than a giggle..The Android just keeps spinning so I cut it off before fully booting..

Thanks for sharing, Gor..


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kq2w0GPcUXA

Damn mike good idea with the video!!!

1.23ghz/Apex 1.4

Gorgarath
02-26-2011, 08:29 PM
Hehe, thanks for the video. :) I tried making an animated GIF, but the online thing I found for free complained about too many images.

Had a feeling it wasn't called Laughing Apple simply because without audio, it certainly isn't laughing, exploding or burning is a much better description.

mikeinrichmond
02-26-2011, 08:37 PM
No prob..My 2yo Samsung 5mp camera happened to be lying around. Doesn't get much use since the X came along.. :)

WugFresh
02-26-2011, 08:39 PM
Nice job Gorgarath! :)

{{ WugFresh }}

Gorgarath
02-26-2011, 08:43 PM
Nice job Gorgarath! :)

{{ WugFresh }}
Thanks! Couldn't have done it without your help on creating the flashable zip files. Still not completely sure about what all I can do in there, but I'll figure it out... Once you write that FAQ on it. :P

TideFan22
02-26-2011, 09:14 PM
Do u have any screenshots, or explain what it looks like to me? Thanx

Sent from a Tweaked out Rubix

1KDS
02-26-2011, 09:26 PM
Mike posted a youtube video on the front page, thanks Gorgarath, running it now

TideFan22
02-26-2011, 09:27 PM
Ok my bad I didn't see it. The last time I looked at the first page was b4 it was up. Nice man, im gonna switch from the xoom one

Sent from a Tweaked out Rubix

TideFan22
02-26-2011, 09:48 PM
Question about the sound, where at in system/media do I paste it exactly or does it matter. Or just anywhere in the audio folder, or a specific folder

Sent from a Tweaked out Rubix

Gorgarath
02-26-2011, 10:42 PM
Question about the sound, where at in system/media do I paste it exactly or does it matter. Or just anywhere in the audio folder, or a specific folder

Sent from a Tweaked out Rubix

Directly into /system/media though the person who requested this had some issues with doing it manually which is why I made the CW flashable version. That one worked for him.

Also, the Xoom one now has audio... :D

TideFan22
02-26-2011, 10:43 PM
Yeah I put it in there but there was no sound? Do I have to rename it or anything?

Sent from heavily tweaked Rubix!!

Gorgarath
02-26-2011, 10:43 PM
Mike posted a youtube video on the front page, thanks Gorgarath, running it now
Thanks! Glad you like it. These are kind of fun, though can be a pain finding what went wrong when you have something go wrong. :lol:

Gorgarath
02-26-2011, 10:45 PM
Yeah I put it in there but there was no sound

Sent from heavily tweaked Rubix!!
Which is really odd, it worked for me, but you're the second person that's told me they had trouble with manually doing it. Try the Clockwork version, it definitely does work.

1KDS
02-26-2011, 10:46 PM
+1 the flashable zip works flawlessly

TideFan22
02-26-2011, 10:47 PM
So just paste It right after I hit media folder, not in the audio folder right?

Sent from heavily tweaked Rubix!!

WugFresh
02-26-2011, 10:48 PM
Why would you post anything but the clockwork version? Lol.. no bias I swear... Once you make a successful flashable zip.it works everytime. Root explorer methods have varying results.

{{ WugFresh }}

Gorgarath
02-26-2011, 10:58 PM
Why would you post anything but the clockwork version? Lol.. no bias I swear... Once you make a successful flashable zip.it works everytime. Root explorer methods have varying results.

{{ WugFresh }}
So I've noticed. :crazy:

I put the manual way up because... Some people might not want the sound and it's easier to copy the bootanimation.zip over instead of going in after the fact and deleting the sound file... Yeah, that's why... Actually, that really was the reason. :lol: Think from now on, I'm just posting the CW versions and they can delete/rename the sound if they want.

Gorgarath
02-26-2011, 10:59 PM
So just paste It right after I hit media folder, not in the audio folder right?

Sent from heavily tweaked Rubix!!
Correct, though I recommend the clockwork version.

WugFresh
02-26-2011, 11:01 PM
Just post two clockwork versions. Delete the sound from inside the zip. Leave the empty data/local folder... if there's no file it wont go on the phone. Or you can delete the data folder all together and delete the lines in the updater script for that part all together... either or.

{{ WugFresh }}

Gorgarath
02-26-2011, 11:03 PM
Just post two clockwork versions. Delete the sound from inside the zip. Leave the empty data/local folder... if there's no file it wont go on the phone. Or you can delete the data folder all together and delete the lines in the updater script for that part all together... either or.

{{ WugFresh }}
I'm assuming you mean the system/media folder as that's where the sound is... :P

TideFan22
02-26-2011, 11:26 PM
Ok installed the cw one and still no sound? But its all good least I got the animation

Sent from heavily tweaked Rubix!!

gunner1982
02-26-2011, 11:29 PM
Well first of all the boot time was really fast 2nd I just about pissed my pants when I heard the laugh ...great job

sent from my Liberated,OC'D, and never lookin back DX

WugFresh
02-26-2011, 11:46 PM
I'm assuming you mean the system/media folder as that's where the sound is... :P

Yea

{{ WugFresh }}

Gorgarath
02-27-2011, 02:34 PM
Ok installed the cw one and still no sound? But its all good least I got the animation

Sent from heavily tweaked Rubix!!

That's really weird, yours is the only one I've heard of not working with the clockwork version. Did you verify the MD5? Maybe you got a bad download, but I'd imagine it would mess with more than just not having sound if it was. Not sure why it's not working for you. Assuming you're on .340, what's your ROM?

EDIT: Just saw your sig says Rubix, which version? I'll try flashing that later and then seeing if I can narrow down what's not working.

Gorgarath
02-27-2011, 02:36 PM
I just about pissed my pants when I heard the laugh ...great job

Haha, awesomesauce! Glad you like it. :)

spmdroidx
02-27-2011, 03:25 PM
This is great! How can I remove a boot logo that I installed via liberty toolbox? It stuck with me since I flashed apex.

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forum App

Gorgarath
02-27-2011, 04:02 PM
If you want the original motorola M, this (http://www.mediafire.com/?aum864opyrryxdt) will do it. Also have the Glow Droid file (http://www.mediafire.com/?uw7ed9jn3k3942g) handy too.

I'm trying to actually make a boot logo, but it's harder than I thought it would be. Think I have an error in my steps somewhere, most likely in the hex editing part. Right now the honeycomb bee is a weird pinkish color (though I'm sure maybish would love it) with a white background instead of blue with a black background.

EDIT: Both of those files are flashable via Clockwork.

Casey
02-28-2011, 04:57 PM
Love it! However, I also don't have the sound when it loads up, though I did verify that the .mp3 is in /system/media; I can even play it via Root Explorer so I'm not sure why it isn't working. I used clockwork to install it as well.

Gorgarath
02-28-2011, 11:36 PM
Love it! However, I also don't have the sound when it loads up, though I did verify that the .mp3 is in /system/media; I can even play it via Root Explorer so I'm not sure why it isn't working. I used clockwork to install it as well.

I've been getting a few reports about sound not working and I think I might have a reason why, but haven't had a chance to test and see if I'm right. Was going to knight, but won't have enough time until tomorrow. To help, could you tell me what ROM you are running that isn't playing the boot sound?

--
Tapatalked from my X.

Casey
03-01-2011, 07:48 AM
I've been getting a few reports about sound not working and I think I might have a reason why, but haven't had a chance to test and see if I'm right. Was going to knight, but won't have enough time until tomorrow. To help, could you tell me what ROM you are running that isn't playing the boot sound?

--
Tapatalked from my X.

At the time I was on stock. I just installed it on Rubix Blurry 1.8 and no sound again. I meant to try it on the other roms I was trying out yesterday but it slipped my mind.

Gorgarath
03-01-2011, 08:51 AM
Heh, now I'm completely confused or misinformed. Pretty sure with one of the others I made for someone, when using Liberty he didn't get sound but said he was switching back to stock and said he got sound there. I will look into this. Maybe I made a mistake in the files for this one. (Fixed one of my silent ones last night because I still had it playing sound.)

propain
03-04-2011, 07:54 PM
Just installed this via clockwork on Apex 1.41

No problems and I love it!

Cheers

classact
03-06-2011, 12:34 PM
Hi, I can't get the mp3 audio file to work. Don't see a /system/media file on my SD so I dropped in my media file which is listed, no work. Hmm I'm sure you have a easy fix, Thanks in advance.

classact
03-06-2011, 12:43 PM
well I dont see my post so forgive me if this pops up twice. tried to load the mp3 audio to > /system/media, but I don't seem to find that file on my SD, I tried dropping into my media file but no work, Thanks in advance for the easy fix, as I'm sure it is something easy lol.

classact
03-06-2011, 12:50 PM
BTW I'm .340 no Rom and used the clockwork version.....no sound, Thanks

Gorgarath
03-06-2011, 07:56 PM
Hi, I can't get the mp3 audio file to work. Don't see a /system/media file on my SD so I dropped in my media file which is listed, no work. Hmm I'm sure you have a easy fix, Thanks in advance.

/system/media is on your phone. You'd need Root Explorer (or the terminal or another root file manager) to see it. If you flashed the sound version with clockwork, it is there. It seems that stock does not play boot sounds though. ApeX 1.4.1 is the only ROM I've had reports on sounds working properly. I've yet to personally try the others, but I've had reports on boot sounds not working for Liberty, older versions of ApeX, or Rubix.

Intimdtr77
03-20-2011, 06:13 AM
pretty cool Animation!

Mine appears after my Liberty 1.5 Boot animation, is that right, two animations?

Either way, I like it!

Gorgarath
03-20-2011, 03:05 PM
The Liberty boot animation or the Liberty boot logo? Having the boot logo appear before the animation is normal, having 2 boot animations play, I have never seen or heard of before.

noXcuse
03-20-2011, 05:49 PM
Tried flashing in ClockWork, but won't take. Says installation complete, but when I reboot it, it just shows the DarkSlide animation. Tried it twice. Nada. Using DarkSlide 4.2

EDIT: 3rd time was a charm. Got it to take. No audio, but the animation works great. Thanks.

GoBears
03-20-2011, 06:41 PM
Just installed this. Great job! Thanks much.

Intimdtr77
03-21-2011, 12:18 AM
The Liberty boot animation or the Liberty boot logo? Having the boot logo appear before the animation is normal, having 2 boot animations play, I have never seen or heard of before.

Hmmm, it is not the Liberty Eagle, it is the Android with the red flame in the middle of it that starts first, (in the Liberty Toolbox it is located under boot logo's) then it goes to this animation. (which is awesome by the way!)

I like animations tat hammer Apple, I wish there were more!

Gorgarath
03-22-2011, 11:34 AM
Hmmm, it is not the Liberty Eagle, it is the Android with the red flame in the middle of it that starts first, (in the Liberty Toolbox it is located under boot logo's) then it goes to this animation. (which is awesome by the way!)
Then yes, this is how it works. The boot logo displays first and then the animation. Most people (it seems like a lot of people don't change the boot logo) have the original Moto M and then the boot animation.

Intimdtr77
03-25-2011, 12:58 AM
Then yes, this is how it works. The boot logo displays first and then the animation. Most people (it seems like a lot of people don't change the boot logo) have the original Moto M and then the boot animation.

Cool, thanks for the information!

Gorgarath
03-25-2011, 07:42 AM
No problem. If you check the link in my signature, I have a few boot logos in my list too, plus Liberty has a few available in it's boot logo changer section of the toolbox and there's a couple apps on the market that can change them too. The two apps I've looked at, have a good number available to switch to, plus give you the option of creating your own and installing them. But if you're creating your own, I find it just as easy to put it in a clockwork file as you still have to do the same steps to make the image either way.

CAEM X
03-25-2011, 10:52 PM
I love this bootanimation thanks alot

TideFan22
03-25-2011, 10:55 PM
Yeah me to I've been using this one for a while, really like it

Crystalized X

CAEM X
03-25-2011, 11:04 PM
i just flashed it its sweet i was using the linux boot but got boring after awhile.

Bungle
03-26-2011, 08:08 PM
Stock, clockwork, no sound.

Would it be possible to make the Apple stay up for a bit longer? Corrode slower?
It just seems to happen so fast. I'd like to boot it up and have it catch someones eye before spinning android.

Intimdtr77
03-26-2011, 11:02 PM
Stock, clockwork, no sound.

Would it be possible to make the Apple stay up for a bit longer? Corrode slower?
It just seems to happen so fast. I'd like to boot it up and have it catch someones eye before spinning android.


That sounds cool!

Gorgarath
03-27-2011, 09:58 AM
Stock, clockwork, no sound.

Would it be possible to make the Apple stay up for a bit longer? Corrode slower?
It just seems to happen so fast. I'd like to boot it up and have it catch someones eye before spinning android.

If you want the sound to work, you will have to flash the file that enables boot sounds that I linked to in the OP.

As for slowing it down, I could make a version that is slower, but it will be soundless as I'm not going to try and sync the audio up.

--
Tapatalked from my X.

propain
03-27-2011, 11:45 AM
I too would be interested in the slower w/o sound....

Gorgarath
03-27-2011, 12:07 PM
Bah, my work laptop as old versions of like everything and doesn't want me to work on files. I was going to do this real quick before the Pens game started, but it'll have to wait until after the game and I'm just going to redo the whole laptop.

Bungle
04-27-2011, 03:43 PM
bump?

FutureFuzz
04-27-2011, 06:07 PM
flashed this last night no sound but who cares looks great love it!! nice job!!

BenBrown
04-28-2011, 11:14 PM
Just edit the desc.txt file in the bootanimation.zip. Change the frames per second number to something lower.
example: 480 854 30<---this number here represents the frames per second. I would try half the value at first and see how it reacts.
p 0 0 part0
Just remember when zipping the file back up use no compression.

BenBrown
04-29-2011, 01:57 AM
Here ya go....I slowed down the animation and lengthened the sound.... all flashable via CW

SlowerAppleLaughWithSound-bootanimation-cw.zip (http://www.mediafire.com/?5r0yii1sar77831)

I hope you don't mind Gorgarath....

Intimdtr77
05-03-2011, 01:09 AM
Do you have to have the sound file mentioned in the first post for the sound to work in your Ben?

BenBrown
05-03-2011, 11:08 PM
Do you have to have the sound file mentioned in the first post for the sound to work in your Ben?

It should be all inclusive. Flashing it will give you the animation and the sound.

BeK
05-07-2011, 03:03 AM
Can't wait to try this out. Looks great!

BeK
05-07-2011, 08:00 AM
Tried the first file and it didn't work when I tried flashing it in recovery.

Emitted from my Droid X via TapaTalk

BeK
05-07-2011, 03:00 PM
3rd time was a charm! ;-)

Emitted from my Droid X via TapaTalk