PDA

View Full Version : PLEASE Help a Total Noob Do a Smooth Warranty Replacement on a Rooted DX!!

WindyCity1014
02-24-2011, 10:23 AM
Hi everyone,

I will start out by admitting that I'm a total noob when it comes to the whole rooting/unrooting deal. I've spent a lot of time reading through other posts on many forums trying to gather all the information I need before posting here, but I'm still really quite confused. In any event, this is my first post, so please be gentle with me...

Here's my sitation--I recently took a chance and used z4root to root my Droid X. Fortunately, it went very smoothly for me. I then proceeded to download Titanium Backup Pro, which I used to freeze the bloatware and to schedule full backups of all apps and data to my SD card. Although I'm sure it's redundant, I also have MyBackUp Pro, which I've used to store all of my apps and data online, as well as BackUp Assistant to back up my contacts. I am using the stock ROM and haven't made any other changes that I can remember (other than a few settings in Launcherpro and Widgetlocker that optimize these apps for rooted phones).

Anyway, I've been experiencing a problem with my screen and Verizon is sending me a warranty replacement, which will be here tomorrow. I'm really confused as to the best way to unroot and "wipe" my current phone before sending it back (I don't want to be charged $600 for tampering with the software!), as well as the best and simplest procedure for getting everyting up and running on my new phone. Based on the information I have been able to gather so far, here's my plan of attack:

1. Use z4root to unroot my current DX.
2. Settings > SD card & phone storage > Unmount SD card on current DX.
3. Remove sd card from current DX and put it in my new DX, and vice versa.
4. Turn on new DX and go through steps to activate.
5. Once new DX is activated, do a factory reset (how?) on my current DX before sending it back to VZW.