PDA

View Full Version : What is next after rooting??

spmdroidx
01-30-2011, 12:42 PM
Hello everyone! I am new to this forum and recently hooked on wanting the best for my DX. I am new to rooting and have a few questions.

I am currently rooted with z4root and don't know what to do next. I read somewhere that the dx is the hardest to mod but it seemed pretty simple with the dx. Is everything else as simple like installing and using custom roms, themes, etc..?

Also what are my next steps in customizing the performance, looks, and abilities of my phone. Like what programs and apps do I need to install? I want something to make sure I can recover from new roms back to 2.2.340 and get my apps back. Like a recovery and backup program?? I hear of bootstrap, titanium, rom manager, etc. There are so many!

And how can I avoid bricking my phone? Does that usually happen when people instal overclocking roms?

I need help. Thanks!!

edit: Where do I find the latest sbf's and RSD? What are they and how do I use them? I just hear everyone talk about them

Abe21599
01-30-2011, 12:54 PM
seems like u should start here :)

http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/droid-x-hacks/14599-droid-x-hacking-checklist.html
http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/droid-x-hacking-guides/12081-rooolers-guide-root-unroot-backup-rom-sbf-overclock.html

spmdroidx
01-30-2011, 01:14 PM

I just backed up everything. I'm slowly ready to start modding everything

Are all roms similar in the fact the way you install them? Do your links show how to instasll them and use them?

Flazell
01-30-2011, 01:23 PM