PDA

View Full Version : Using MIDI (.mid) ringtones? off of /sdcard/media/audio/notifications

BadeMillsap
07-24-2010, 04:18 PM
I admit to being as ignorant as an earthworm and a complete newbie when it comes to smartphones ... but I read everything I could find and somehow have missed the boat on this ...

I used the USB connection between my PC and my X and copied several Midi (.mid) ringtones I liked over to the SD card in the /sdcard/media/audio/notifications folder ... I can navigate to them using FileManager I can see them and in filemanager if I touch any of them they open and play exactly as I would hope (I guess some sort of "music" player but I havent figured out how to navigate to them with the"MUSIC" app) ... regardless ... I know they are on the phone and they do play ... BUT ... when I try to use Home=>Settings=>Sound & Display=>Phone ringtone to SELECT one of them OR when I am in contacts and try to set up a specific ringtone for a contact ... I ONLY 'see' the default ringtones preloaded on the phone .. none of the MIDI ringtones are offered for selection ... Sooooooooo??? WTF??? Have I misinterpreted the proceedure to accomplish this?? :mad:

lives2fish
07-29-2010, 10:47 PM
I admit to being as ignorant as an earthworm and a complete newbie when it comes to smartphones ... but I read everything I could find and somehow have missed the boat on this ...