PDA

View Full Version : First time rooting



t.crawford714
12-11-2010, 09:45 PM
I am trying to install the .net Framework 3.0 but I keep coming up with this message..

t.crawford714
12-11-2010, 09:47 PM
5373There try that

t.crawford714
12-11-2010, 09:54 PM
I think I got it, I'll keep you guys updated

t.crawford714
12-11-2010, 10:06 PM
No matter what I do I keep getting that message...I'm getting pissed off lol

wicked
12-12-2010, 03:48 AM
You trying to root using RootmyX2.zip method?
Try z4root 1.3.0 (http://www.megaupload.com/?d=N3126UA1) instead

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 09:25 AM
You trying to root using RootmyX2.zip method?
Try z4root 1.3.0 (http://www.megaupload.com/?d=N3126UA1) instead

Yeah I was and then I looked at z4root and decided to try that

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forum App

smalltowngirl13
12-12-2010, 09:31 AM
So did you get root with Z4?

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 09:33 AM
So did you get root with Z4?

When it says install does that mean drag the .apk onto my phone? I have no clue what it means by "install" install it where!?

smalltowngirl13
12-12-2010, 09:48 AM
Yes, drag the .apk file to your SD card - then if you have Astro installed, open, find the Z4 file, tap to open & then select open app manager, click install.

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 09:50 AM
Yes, drag the .apk file to your SD card - then if you have Astro installed, open, find the Z4 file, tap to open & then select open app manager, click install.

Is that it? That's all I do?

smalltowngirl13
12-12-2010, 09:52 AM
Well, after you have Z4 installed, open the Z4 app and click "Root"...it will run thru the process and should reboot...once the X reboots, you should see the SuperUser Icon (skull / crossbones) in your app tray...download an app that requires root such as "drocap2" - open drocap and see if it asks for SU permissions...

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 09:53 AM
Do I select temporary root or permanent root? If I do permanent I can still unroot right?

1KDS
12-12-2010, 09:55 AM
Permanent, temp is for NAND locked devices, yes you can still unroot

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 09:59 AM
It was sitting on the Z4 root spinning/loading screen and my screen went black, now it won't turn on

smalltowngirl13
12-12-2010, 10:01 AM
Battery pull & see if it will reboot...

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 10:03 AM
It just rebooted, thank god, I was like S&$^! How long should the z4 take?

ericladewig
12-12-2010, 10:04 AM
Same thing happened to me this morning and battery pull fixed it. Then I ran Z4 again and all is good now.

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forum App

smalltowngirl13
12-12-2010, 10:05 AM
It just rebooted, thank god, I was like S&$^! How long should the z4 take?

Do you have the SU icon? Otherwise like Eric says - attempt again...

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 10:07 AM
Whoo! I have the SU icon!!!

ericladewig
12-12-2010, 10:08 AM
First time went 15 minutes and froze second time about 2 minutes.

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forum App

1KDS
12-12-2010, 10:09 AM
get a root app from the market to test it.

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 10:15 AM
I downloaded "Shootme" and it worked! Hell yeah! I'm so excited, lol

smalltowngirl13
12-12-2010, 10:19 AM
Congrats!!! Glad ya got it...

vulcaninvt
12-12-2010, 10:21 AM
Thanks for starting this thread, it gave me the courage to give it a try...it is now rebooting and looking good to go! Now..

Quick question, what are some fun rooted apps to try, I would like to change the nav bar, is it possible without a ROM?

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 10:22 AM
Thanks for starting this thread, it gave me the courage to give it a try...it is now rebooting and looking good to go! Now..

Quick question, what are some fun rooted apps to try, I would like to change the nav bar, is it possible without a ROM?

I have no clue! haha I guess I just have to find that out, thanks for asking the question lol

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 10:24 AM
Now I have to make a back-up. I have the DroidXbootstrap.apk do I drag that onto my phone? Do I have to click or just reboot it? If I mess this up does my phone almost become a paperweight?

smalltowngirl13
12-12-2010, 10:24 AM
This thread will give y'all a bunch of suggestions...

http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/droid-x-hacks/1466-apps-your-rooted-droid-x.html

1KDS
12-12-2010, 10:29 AM
Now I have to make a back-up. I have the DroidXbootstrap.apk do I drag that onto my phone? Do I have to click or just reboot it? If I mess this up does my phone almost become a paperweight?

Read post 3 in roooler's thread. You have to get bootstrap installed on the phone first.

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 10:31 AM
Yeah I remembered the guide, I'm making a back-up currently. Should I still use the Titanium back-up?

1KDS
12-12-2010, 10:33 AM
Yeah, a nandroid backup is a mirror of the current phone state, ti backs up user apps etc, you can backup your contacts through google or contacts->menu->import/export->export to sd card

1KDS
12-12-2010, 10:33 AM
Also you can us ti "freeze" bloatware, the apps verizon pushes to the phone that nobody wants.

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 10:36 AM
Another question, if I load a ROM and something does go wrong don't you need to be able to access (in my area) astro in order to restore the back up?

vulcaninvt
12-12-2010, 10:37 AM
it rebooted, but no SU icon appeared I pulled the battery, still no SU icon. I am attempting to run it again. I had an update run this morning to a new version. Would that pose any problems?

vulcaninvt
12-12-2010, 10:41 AM
it rebooted, but no SU icon appeared I pulled the battery, still no SU icon. I am attempting to run it again. I had an update run this morning to a new version. Would that pose any problems?

All set, reinstalled and now good to go... backing things up and then I will be good to go!

1KDS
12-12-2010, 10:42 AM
Another question, if I load a ROM and something does go wrong don't you need to be able to access (in my area) astro in order to restore the back up?

No, you have to access bootstrapper to flash back to a previous backup.

vulcaninvt
12-12-2010, 10:49 AM
I am looking for bootstrapper to back up as well, where can I locate this app? I want to make sure that I am doing this properly :)

1KDS
12-12-2010, 10:51 AM
market app called droid x recovery

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 10:52 AM
Try this, it has instructions and everything

vulcaninvt
12-12-2010, 11:00 AM
Sorry for so many questions, when I do the backup recovery, will the files be saved on the phone, or will I be saving any files to my PC?

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 11:02 AM
It should be on the phone, which I am trying to figure out if you mess up your phone, how do you restore it unless every time you boot up does it go into the clockwork menu?

1KDS
12-12-2010, 11:04 AM
It's saved on the SD card. You have to be able to get to bootstrap to restore, if you can't get there and wipe data/cache doesn't work it's sbf time.

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 11:06 AM
So if you mess up on a ROM do you have to sbf?

Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forum App

1KDS
12-12-2010, 11:08 AM
Sometimes, not usually, I have never had to. Usually people have to sbf because they have no backups to restore to. Generally when you install a ROM and it doesn't work or boot right, you boot into stock recovery, wipe data and cache and reboot, that solves most problems.

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 11:13 AM
Ah ok, I'm going to download the Wireless Tether but it says "netfilter-enabled kernel" what does that mean?

1KDS
12-12-2010, 11:14 AM
Not sure, where does it say that?

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 11:19 AM
When you click on the app to download it it just says you need a rooted device and that then it has the options to install or cancel, its the screen before the permissions one.

1KDS
12-12-2010, 11:20 AM
Yeah, I see that now. Not really sure, but that's the app most people have and it works.

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 11:25 AM
Oh, ok sweet. I saw how to back-up your contacts also, now I can't find the instructions. Help me lol

1KDS
12-12-2010, 11:38 AM
The way I do it is: contacts->menu->import/export->export to sd card. You can also sync them to google but I can't remember how now.

Edit: contacts->menu->accounts->auto-sync

vulcaninvt
12-12-2010, 11:41 AM
One suggestion is to rename your backup file, any idea which file it is that I am actually needing to rename. I get to the back up folder and it says five items... cache.img date.img, nandroid.md5 and system.img Do I rename any of these or just the folder 2010-12-12.17.06.32 ?

Thanks again!

1KDS
12-12-2010, 11:44 AM
Just the folder. Also you can't have any spaces or odd characters in the name.

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 11:54 AM
Really? Why not? I did...is my back up screwed now? I just named it root backup

1KDS
12-12-2010, 12:42 PM
It's fine, but you need to rename it, maybe 12-12-10stockroot or something to that effect. If you try to restore a backup with spaces in the name it will not restore and give you a MD5 sum mismatch.

t.crawford714
12-12-2010, 01:34 PM
It's fine, but you need to rename it, maybe 12-12-10stockroot or something to that effect. If you try to restore a backup with spaces in the name it will not restore and give you a MD5 sum mismatch.

Ah, thanks so 12.12.10root will work as long as it doesn't have spaces


Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forum App

1KDS
12-12-2010, 01:44 PM
yessir