PDA

View Full Version : one click root can't find device



bucknuts4747
12-06-2010, 12:32 PM
when i tried the one click root it said root failed can't find device... when i tried that manual root my sdcard didn't have a tools folder... suggestions

I just want wifi tether really.. is there a way to tether (for free) with no root

DebianDog
12-06-2010, 12:47 PM
PDAnet is free no root

bucknuts4747
12-06-2010, 12:48 PM
doesn't pda net free not work for http tho?

noXcuse
12-06-2010, 12:52 PM
It works for http, just not https (secure sites). I used to have it, until I rooted and got the wireless tether.

DebianDog
12-06-2010, 01:05 PM
It works for http, just not https (secure sites). I used to have it, until I rooted and got the wireless tether.

People keep telling me that but it works for me. Maybe it only does that on Windows.

noXcuse
12-06-2010, 01:34 PM
That's supposed to be the difference between the paid and free versions. The paid version gains access to secure sites.

Sent from my DROIDX

DebianDog
12-06-2010, 01:58 PM
That's supposed to be the difference between the paid and free versions. The paid version gains access to secure sites.

Sent from my DROIDX


Yes I read that on the site but I have never actually been blocked by the program. I have the unpaid version.

skennelly
12-06-2010, 02:16 PM
when i tried the one click root it said root failed can't find device... when i tried that manual root my sdcard didn't have a tools folder... suggestions

I just want wifi tether really.. is there a way to tether (for free) with no root

Try running it again with a different usb toggle i.e. pc mode, usb mass storage etc.


Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forum App

secretformula
12-06-2010, 02:25 PM
I recommend just installing terminal emulator and rooting manually. I was having problems getting Z4root and the RootMyX2 programs to work so I just did the Manuel root. Its not that hard if you just follow the instructions.

BlitzeDonX
12-06-2010, 02:52 PM
Right click the one click root program > Run as admin

skennelly
12-07-2010, 06:14 AM
PDANet will be blocked. My wife had the trial and now the paid version and i had the trial and went to the wifi tether because it will block you. It is a long trial.

DebianDog
12-07-2010, 07:37 AM
PDANet will be blocked. My wife had the trial and now the paid version and i had the trial and went to the wifi tether because it will block you. It is a long trial.

Maybe on Windows. I have had it running since September.

bucknuts4747
12-08-2010, 09:24 PM
i can't get anythng to work... not manual not one click root not superoneclick.... i bricked my phone before so i used the sbf thegift2.zip and now i can't root... the emulator kept saying .abd is not a recognized command or something like that. but i can't figure it out.. because at the end it said root successful but no actual root... suggestions?

1KDS
12-08-2010, 09:33 PM
tried z4root?

Netou
12-08-2010, 10:59 PM
z4root didnt work me


=/

1KDS
12-09-2010, 11:54 AM
If z4 doesn't work you can try visionary

woodberry
12-09-2010, 01:07 PM
i can't get anythng to work... not manual not one click root not superoneclick.... i bricked my phone before so i used the sbf thegift2.zip and now i can't root... the emulator kept saying .abd is not a recognized command or something like that. but i can't figure it out.. because at the end it said root successful but no actual root... suggestions?

1. make sure you go to settings>applications>development> and check the "enable usb debugging"
2. try cycling through the different usb modes and restarting the one click root program in between (i used rootmyx2)
3. make sure you have the latest motorola drivers
4. mine works when im in "windows media sync" mode - there is a special droid x window that pops up on my desktop when im correctly connected in this mode that shows missed calls/text and some media options i believe (never touched it)
5. the rootmyx2 sometimes doesnt recognize my device either and i always just follow these steps (mostly number 2) until it works

hope this helps

ARHicken
12-09-2010, 03:28 PM
you need wireless tether