PDA

View Full Version : trouble installing rom



boston0108
11-14-2010, 10:22 PM
So I've tried installing it through bootstrap and rom manager, and when it gets to the point of rebooting and installing, about when the progress bar is half way through an exclamation point inside a triangle pops up and just restarts with no rom....I must be doin it wrong....any ideas?

Thanks

Ryan M
11-14-2010, 10:28 PM
which rom? what steps are you taking?

boston0108
11-14-2010, 10:36 PM
I'm following all the steps from Roooler's sticky guide. I downloaded darkslide blur 1.0 and transferred it to my sd card and used bootstrap to load it. It takes like 10 seconds, says its complete and I reboot and nothing. The other way I tried was with rom manager. I downloaded flyx, and when it reboots and goes to install, about half way through I get a triangle with an exclamation point in it and it reboots and no rom loaded....sucks

Ryan M
11-14-2010, 10:39 PM
I'm following all the steps from Roooler's sticky guide. I downloaded darkslide blur 1.0 and transferred it to my sd card and used bootstrap to load it. It takes like 10 seconds, says its complete and I reboot and nothing.

did you mount sys before install?

Btw Flyx is no longer being developed so IMO i would not recommend it

boston0108
11-14-2010, 10:41 PM
Not sure what you're talking about. If it wasn't in that guide then no.

boston0108
11-14-2010, 10:43 PM
Btw Flyx is no longer being developed so IMO i would not recommend it

That's fine, which one would you recommend then? I'm just trying to get ANYTHING to work at this point tonight.

Ryan M
11-14-2010, 10:47 PM
ok from BBCrackman's post over at my droid world
to Install:
Place Zip on sdcard - (you have already done)
Bootstrap recovery
Reboot Recovery
Mount System - (to do this go into mounts/storage, hit mount system ( it will change to unmount system when it is mounted))
Back out to main menu - (press power button to go back)
Install Zip from sdcard
Choose Zip
Install
Reboot
Enjoy


if you did not mount sys this could be the cause of your issue
try again and make sure to do all these steps
hope this helps good luck

Ryan M
11-14-2010, 10:53 PM
That's fine, which one would you recommend then? I'm just trying to get ANYTHING to work at this point tonight.

my personal favs are rubiX focused 1.6 or fission 2.1 final but i am not a big fan of blur if you like blur maybe rubiX blurry 1.0. However darkslide should work if you follow all the steps

boston0108
11-14-2010, 10:56 PM
Good job man, thanks a lot, it worked.

Ryan M
11-14-2010, 10:58 PM
you are welcome glad to hear it.

SSiegel97
11-20-2010, 06:03 AM
I had the same issue too. Rom Manager doesn't work for me but using the bootstrap program does. Does anyone know why? I installed the Apex rom. Everything works fine BUT when I got into Titanium Back up, I tried to uninstall Quick Office, it rebooted and I got that exclamation point and then normal reboot.
Weird.