[ROM][DROIDX] ApeX 2.0.0 Release Candidate (RC4) (10/9/2011)

This is a discussion on [ROM][DROIDX] ApeX 2.0.0 Release Candidate (RC4) (10/9/2011) within the ApeX forums, part of the Gingerbread Roms category; I am back to banging my head on the wall.... I tried to fall back to .340 using the CD method. Some issue with the ...


Page 61 of 98 FirstFirst ... 1151596061626371 ... LastLast
Results 601 to 610 of 980
Like Tree30Likes

Thread: [ROM][DROIDX] ApeX 2.0.0 Release Candidate (RC4) (10/9/2011)

  1. #601
    X Lurker
    Points: 749, Level: 14
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0.6%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points100 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered7 days registered
    kcallis's Avatar
    Member #
    17408
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    11
    Liked
    0 times
    I am back to banging my head on the wall.... I tried to fall back to .340 using the CD method. Some issue with the 0.9 version of the CD required me to use an older version, in the case 0.8. After loading .340, my DX went back to a boot loop. My next move was to try the CD method using .604, which seemed to work. So now I am at .602, and while the kernel is good to go, 2.6.32.9-g34b306d (system version 4.5.602.MB810.Verizon.en.US), the radio remain the same. Ok, let me root this puppy and the Apex with save me with the latest update. I have tried z4root and gingerbreak and nothing is working... So am I going to have to actually dust off and fire up a windows machine and do the whole RSD-Lite method or is there something I am missing with the CD boot method.

  2. Droid X Forums
    Ads


  3. #602
    RS Team Leader
    Supporting Member
    Points: 26,927, Level: 97
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 423
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    Awards:
    Activity Award
    popcenator's Avatar
    Member #
    21238
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    8,258
    Liked
    179 times
    Once you bootloop after the SBF, pull the batter, boot into stock recovery, factory reset. That should solve your problem.

  4. #603
    X Lurker
    Points: 749, Level: 14
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0.6%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points100 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered7 days registered
    kcallis's Avatar
    Member #
    17408
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    11
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by popcenator View Post
    Once you bootloop after the SBF, pull the batter, boot into stock recovery, factory reset. That should solve your problem.
    Alright, I am starting the process to fall back to .340 using the boot CD method. Hopefully, this will work this time, at which time the z4 rooting method should work.... I will update according

    UPDATE: And going back into the boot loader was the missing element.... Thanks... Now if z4 works I will be good to go... I really need to remember to document all of this stuff...

    I was able to get to .340, installed z4, ROM Manager, D2 Bootloader, and was able to go into the bootloader and loaded the AIO uodate. Rebooted, and now it shows the Google boot screen and hangs. I have tried all the combination to get to the boot loader and no go. I can get to the generic bootloader which would allow me to reload .340... I cannot seem to get to the CW bootloader, so I am stuck with this issue of never getting past .340. Should I just use the K1DS .602 boot CD and then try to do the Apex upgrade after that? The issue seem to be that the Radio doesn't get upgraded nor can I use z4 to root the device. Anyone have any ideas??? My phone has been off for 8 hours, and need to get back and running again. Thanks goodness for google voice!
    Last edited by kcallis; 09-30-2011 at 07:16 PM.

  5. #604
    X Lurker
    Points: 749, Level: 14
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0.6%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points100 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered7 days registered
    kcallis's Avatar
    Member #
    17408
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    11
    Liked
    0 times
    Ok, I am looking at the instruction to load the AIO version.... It says for me to mount the AIO file... I am going to assume that just means for me to update the device normally, right? So would the process be for me to root the Froyo version, install D2 bootloader, then get CW bootload in play? Or do I just root and get the D2 in place and boot wipe, factory and then install AIO? Help me Obi-wan, you are my only hope...

  6. #605
    X Operative
    Points: 3,072, Level: 34
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 1.3%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    hillbilliegreg's Avatar
    Member #
    31180
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    LA@the beach
    Posts
    189
    Liked
    1 times
    Read the instructions Fab posted, here is a quick rundown
    In cwr wipe data/factory reset,wipe cache,wipe davlik cache, then MOUNT SYSTEM, then flash aio

    Sent from my DROIDX using Droid X Forums
    http://gplus.to/hillbilliegreg Droid X running Liberty 3.0 this week

  7. #606
    RS Team Leader
    Supporting Member
    Points: 26,927, Level: 97
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 423
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    Awards:
    Activity Award
    popcenator's Avatar
    Member #
    21238
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    8,258
    Liked
    179 times
    When using the AIO installer, you need to boot into CW recovery, go down to mounts and storage and FORMAT the system, data, and cache, then mount the system. DO NOT just wipe data/cache.

  8. #607
    X Lurker
    Points: 749, Level: 14
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0.6%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points100 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered7 days registered
    kcallis's Avatar
    Member #
    17408
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    11
    Liked
    0 times
    I have never seen mount... So I am going to assume that I need to get D2 bootloader in play, correct?

  9. #608
    X Lurker
    Points: 749, Level: 14
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0.6%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points100 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered7 days registered
    kcallis's Avatar
    Member #
    17408
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    11
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by popcenator View Post
    When using the AIO installer, you need to boot into CW recovery, go down to mounts and storage and FORMAT the system, data, and cache, then mount the system. DO NOT just wipe data/cache.
    Now that makes things a lot clearer! Hopefully, this will be the last time to go through the process... So my process if correct... Load .340, root it and get D2 bootloader in place. Do I need to reload CW bootloader or did it remain from the previous time that I installed? Go to D2 and do a recovery reboot, factory reset, go to advance and format system, data, and cache, then come back and install AIO... Does that sound right?

  10. #609
    X Operative
    Points: 3,072, Level: 34
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 1.3%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered100 Experience Points31 days registered7 days registered
    hillbilliegreg's Avatar
    Member #
    31180
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    LA@the beach
    Posts
    189
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by kcallis View Post
    Now that makes things a lot clearer! Hopefully, this will be the last time to go through the process... So my process if correct... Load .340, root it and get D2 bootloader in place. Do I need to reload CW bootloader or did it remain from the previous time that I installed? Go to D2 and do a recovery reboot, factory reset, go to advance and format system, data, and cache, then come back and install AIO... Does that sound right?
    use the d2 bootloader, do everything you just said, but you left out the most important step,after you have wiped eveything, go to "advanced" once in "advanced" choose "MOUNT SYSTEM"Ten go back and choose "install zip from sd card, choose the aio zip and install.if you do not do the MOUNT SYSTEM your install will fail
    http://gplus.to/hillbilliegreg Droid X running Liberty 3.0 this week

  11. #610
    X Lurker
    Points: 749, Level: 14
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0.6%
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points100 Experience Points3 months registered31 days registered7 days registered
    kcallis's Avatar
    Member #
    17408
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    11
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by hillbilliegreg View Post
    use the d2 bootloader, do everything you just said, but you left out the most important step,after you have wiped eveything, go to "advanced" once in "advanced" choose "MOUNT SYSTEM"Ten go back and choose "install zip from sd card, choose the aio zip and install.if you do not do the MOUNT SYSTEM your install will fail
    Thanks to hillbilliegreg and popcenator.... The formatting and re-mounting was the missing bit that was holding me up... So after many, many hours of frustrations, I can now look at RC3 and act like a happy camper...

Page 61 of 98 FirstFirst ... 1151596061626371 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 523
    Last Post: 11-20-2011, 04:59 PM
  2. Replies: 640
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 08:18 AM
  3. Replies: 378
    Last Post: 06-21-2011, 11:33 AM
  4. [ROM] ApeX V2.0.0 Release Candidate (RC1) (6/6/2011)
    By Fabolous in forum Gingerbread Roms
    Replies: 301
    Last Post: 06-13-2011, 08:34 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-31-2011, 10:03 AM

Search tags for this page

apex 2 rc4
,

apex 2.0

,

apex 2.0 rc4

,
apex 2.0 rc4 themes
,

apex droid x

,
apex for droid x
,
apex rc4 droid x
,
apex rom droid x
,

droid x apex

,
droid x apex 2.0 rc4
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.